We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to eat here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mean Mr. Mustard

Mean Mr. Mustard
605 Kanuga Rd, Hendersonville, NC 28739
(828) 698-8584.
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 158 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is our second review as we ate here last year. Awesome food. No matter if you order breakfast or lunch. Lots of locals eat here. True that the staff is a little 'haughty' but you need to be mindful of the food quality and how quickly you are served. It's worth it to me. Sometimes you just need to breathe and be happy there are unique places still available to people and the food they serve is very high quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“ALWAYS GREAT FOOD !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been several times for lunch and the food is ALWAYS GREAT! I have had everything from Rubens to Ruben Omlets. Sometimes there is a wait but it is a small space. The servers are always helpful but obviously very busy. If you go don't be in a hurry and get there before you are stupid hungry. It is always on my list of stops in Hendersonville!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“So rude we left without ordering.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I came in to have lunch today and yes, it was the apple festival. The whole town was jumping, so we came in to the restaurant to have lunch around 12:30 pm. There were 5 of us and no line. All the tables were full and hostess told us there would be a wait. We told her that would be fine, since we were not in a rush. She told us it could be a while, so we asked if we could have our food to go, since we thought it might be faster and easier for the staff. The hostess went over to an older waitress who immediately made a very rude face when she heard about a to go order and said that we could not have to go food. Our host is a resident of Hendersonville and a regular at Mean Mr. Mustard's and let them know that we were locals not tourists. The hostess went over to the server again, who then got very nasty and argued with the hostess and finally agreed to do the take out order. That was enough for me. If I'm coming in with 5 adults and will spend upwards of $70 in food and beverage, then you give me grief about ordering food? We walked out. No food is worth any amount of money if you don't make your guests feel welcome. Not only did this establishment lose my lunch business today, they lost all of our future business. Shame on a restaurant who espouses the love mantra of the Beatles and then drives customers away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate breakfast here one of our two mornings in Hendersonville. It was outstanding from the stuffed french toast cordon bleu to the gravy (not your usual brown or cream gravy!!) to the grits to the pancakes. The coffee was great, and the service was attentive. It was amusing to hear the wait staff chatting about the locals up at the cash register.

The other breakfast was an OK experience at a place on Main St.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast with the Beatles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great little place just off Main Street. Beatles memorabilia throughout. But the best part is the food. Excellent quality at a very reasonable price in a fun atmosphere. Breakfast and lunch only.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mean Mr. Mustard also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mean Mr. Mustard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mean Mr. Mustard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.