We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best bakery...Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McFarlan Bakery

McFarlan Bakery
309 North Main Street, Hendersonville, NC 28739
828-693-4256
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE best bakery...Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

McFarlan's is a unique bakery that will take you back to the days of fabulous food at fabulous prices. Their cinnamon roll is the best I've ever had and their bear claw is to die for. Great service and amazing pastries, cookies, pies, cakes...the list goes on and on. Don't miss it!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    32
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Husband's favorite bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

He thinks they make the best creme horns. Very fresh and great tasting creme inside. Wish they stayed open longer so we could pick up goodies later in the evening. Check them out you will love them too. They are right on Main Street and easy to find. Parking however leaves something to be desired.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“average tasting cookies, good selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The cookies were okay but the selection seemed good. We tried a chocolate chip cookie and peanut butter cookie. The peanut butter cookie didn't have much flavor so I would probably pass on peanut butter next time. Although I am rating this average, I would give it another shot as it may be what I ordered.

They have cookies, cake, pies, donuts, etc. in downtown Hendersonville.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I went here for the first time based on other trip advisor reviews. I stopped in around 9:30am on Saturday. The bakery was busy. I wasn't able to get a good view of everything in the case (this is my only complaint/suggestion - create a line pattern that allows customers to view all the items before placing their order). When my turn came to order, a very nice middle aged man helped me make my choices. I got 3 muffins (apple, blueberry, orange/cranberry), 3 glazed donuts, 1 blueberry donut, 1 apple streusel, 1 cinnamon roll. If I ever get back here, which I certainly hope I do, I will stick with the more pastry type items. The muffins were just muffins, not over the top special like all of the other items I tried. Everything here looked so good, I wish I could have tried all of the baked goods (cookies, cakes, pies, many other specialties). I will certainly make this a definite stop if I am every within 30 minutes of Hendersonville. Well worth the drive! By the way I got all of this plus a bottle of water for $12.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everyday is a good day once you've been to McFarlan's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Awesome baked goods - from breads to cakes to the most delicious almond macaroons ever! We have probably tried every cookie they make and they are all good! Service friendly and the owners also provide service for their customers and so it's just a friendly, delicious place to go when one has a sweet tooth! I can't imagine Hendersonville without a visit to McFarlan's Bakery. The owners, Kathy and Mike Cole know what they are doing running the bakery!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McFarlan Bakery also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to McFarlan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McFarlan Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.