We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, always excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Copper Door

The Copper Door
2 Sullivan St, Hayesville, NC 28904
828-389-8460
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Copper Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Hayesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hiawassee Street
Description: Fine dining in Historic Hayesville, NC. We feature the finest steaks, fresh seafood and signature dishes to please the discerning palate at prices that won’t break your budget. Come enjoy the intimate atmosphere. Our attentive staff will anticipate your needs and insure that your dining experience is exceptional. We are one block west of the old Clay County Courthouse, next door to Square One Interiors by Design. We are two hours west of Asheville, two hours north of Atlanta and two hours east of Chattanooga. We accept Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent, always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Copper Door never disappoints. We have been there a lot, and it is the best restaurant in the GA/NC border area, hands down. The service is outstanding. The wine list is without equal for the area, and the food is always great. The catch of the day changing frequently, and is always wonderful. You can not go wrong with this place if you are looking for fine dining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! It's nice to hear about an excellent experience but it's great to hear about consistently excellent experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Knocked It Out of the Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I were visiting friends in Murphy and they said we had to go to the Copper Door during our stay. I checked Trip Advisor and immediately said "lets do it". Boy are we glad we did. This place rocks! We arrived a little early for our reservation so we grabbed a drink at the bar. Our friends ordered a bottle of Desero Malbec and it was awesome. We ended getting a second bottle for dinner. When we got seated the dining room was gorgeous with the focal point being the huge fireplace in the middle. So warm and inviting was the fireplace along with the 3 appetizers we tried. Escargot, smoked salmon plate and the brie in puff pastry we wonderful. The entrees was awesome as well. I had the crawfish tortellini. Yummo! My wife had the duck breast and she said it was the best ever and I agree even though she would only give up one bite. Our friends had the ribeye and the salmon and loved them both. Oh I forgot to mention the oyster shooters we did right after our apps. Pretty good way to clean the pallet. Dessert? Forget about it! Creme brulee, some white chocolate mousse concoction and a third I cant even remember due to being in a food coma at that point. Sorry. Service was excellent and timing of food perfect which always seem to be a struggle for restaurants. Bottom line is if you are anywhere near this joint you got to find a way to go. Great people, outstanding service and rockin' food. Keep on Rolling! To bad your over 500 miles away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
What a great endorsement - and delicious sounding meal! Hope you'll make it back in soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Went for wedding rehearsal dinner. Excellent EVERYTHING. Service-10+, Food-10+, Atmosphere-10+. Delicious Pinot Noir wine. Terrific appetizers and entree selections. Anything you want, they have it...and they prepare it excellently. Good place to go if you're staying at Brasstown Valley Resort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

had dinner last night again at Copper Door...have NEVER been disappointed...LOVE the Tusquittee salad and crawfish specialties....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shockingly High End Restaurant in Western North Carolina Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

In the middle of basically rural America in the North Carolina mountains appears a 5 star restaurant with incredibly talented chefs. Well worth a side trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Door also viewed

Hayesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hayesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Hayesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Copper Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Copper Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.