We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Copper Door

The Copper Door
2 Sullivan St, Hayesville, NC 28904
828-389-8460
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Copper Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Hayesville
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hiawassee Street
Description: Fine dining in Historic Hayesville, NC. We feature the finest steaks, fresh seafood and signature dishes to please the discerning palate at prices that won’t break your budget. Come enjoy the intimate atmosphere. Our attentive staff will anticipate your needs and insure that your dining experience is exceptional. We are one block west of the old Clay County Courthouse, next door to Square One Interiors by Design. We are two hours west of Asheville, two hours north of Atlanta and two hours east of Chattanooga. We accept Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.
atlanta,ga
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

went with wife for 45th anniversary dinner. Everything was terrific--we started with a puff pastry filled with melted brio cheese--execllent.Then wife had pot roast and i had the duck--again cooked to perefection,great sauce as well.For dessert we had bread pudding --again excellent Service was great,ambience very good Bill was 88 bucks including wine--not bad

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review - and for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary! Congratulations and best wishes for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gourmet Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to Copper Door as a last-night-of-vacation family meal, and we weren't disappointed! The service was excellent, the food was fabulous and the atmosphere was classy, yet comfortable. We were four adults, two children, and everybody literally cleared their plates. There weren't any leftovers to take home and enjoy the next day. And if you like dessert, they don't disappoint! A huge selection, and everything was fantastic. I would highly encourage a night out at the Copper Door for a gourmet meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I'm glad you were able to end your vacation on a high note with us! Hope you'll have a chance to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Leisurely, elegant dinner near Lake Chatuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We vacationed on Lake Chatuge near Hayesville, North Carolina, and were so pleased to find this gem in the downtown area. The food was excellent, and the servers were very attentive to our party of eight. Our family has found a new vacation spot, and we plan to visit The Copper Door when we return to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
So glad you found us! Hope you'll have a chance to vacation and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Gem in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent experience. Made reservations through Open Table and got there a few minutes early. We were directed to the bar to wait for the table. Seating was prompt with drink orders taken immediately. Specials were explained and orders taken. Both the soup du jour and the house mushroom soup were good, served hot. The popovers were hot, light and airy served with a cajun spiced butter. Entrees at our table were the rib eye which was cooked perfectly and the duck breast. The rice special as well as the potatoes with onion were well prepared. House vegetable was asparagus with carrots which were cooked perfectly. Had portions not be so generous I may have had dessert. I plan to return here when I head to the mountains again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your experience! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“who Would Think Small Town Restaurant: 5 Stars?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hayesville, NC on the Georgia border in Lake Chatuge area i.e. Hiawassee and Young Harris Ga. has an exceptional restaurant: food and wine selections and service is 5 STAR. Chef Dennis opened a a few years ago and he was a well known chef in Atlanta area. His specials are all selected by him and he supervises the kitchen and inspects each platter before being brought to the table. The interior is all wood, not veneer and is exceptionally decorated. However, dress is VERY casual and understated. On a Saturday night with a full dining room, I observed 2 men with jackets, and one in shorts. :-( Reservations are needed on weekends and surprisingly, good value in pricing. We've dined here many times and have not been disappointed

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about the food and the restaurant! We do try to maintain a "smart casual" dress code and thank you for your attention to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Door also viewed

Hayesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hayesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Copper Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Copper Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.