We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as everyone thinks!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Copper Door

The Copper Door
2 Sullivan St, Hayesville, NC 28904
828-389-8460
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Copper Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Hayesville
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hiawassee Street
Description: Fine dining in Historic Hayesville, NC. We feature the finest steaks, fresh seafood and signature dishes to please the discerning palate at prices that won’t break your budget. Come enjoy the intimate atmosphere. Our attentive staff will anticipate your needs and insure that your dining experience is exceptional. We are one block west of the old Clay County Courthouse, next door to Square One Interiors by Design. We are two hours west of Asheville, two hours north of Atlanta and two hours east of Chattanooga. We accept Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not as great as everyone thinks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Copper Door for a birthday celebration. They assured the person who made the reservation that our tables would be adjacent to each other. They didn't say that we would be placed in booths in a enclosed breezeway with space heaters. One of the walls was a heavy plastic that covered screen windows that let in cold air to those who were seated next to it. This room shouldn't have been used in cool weather.

Service was horrible! I think that they assigned a inexperienced server to this room for training because she seemed to be lost most of the time. Our food took forever to be served and it took 45 minutes to get our bills paid! I'm not kidding! Maybe it was because she didn't keep track of who was with whom and what each person had to eat. I could see her at the restaurant computer trying to figure out how to make out the checks.

The food was not as great as everyone states. The pot roast was O.K. but nothing to write home about. The pork loin was very good at $19.00 but I've had just as good for a lot less. One in our group had the rack of lamb. He said that it had large portions of fat and a disappointment at $24.00! The only redeeming part of the meal for me was the $4.00 lobster & crab bisque for the soup selection.

Overall, the Copper Door should not have used a room that they could not service properly and they should have assigned a experienced server to oversee/help a trainee.
No excuse for a saturday night reserviation and a large group to service. Probably will not be going back to this place for a whole list of reasons.



    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Owner at The Copper Door, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are very sorry you were disappointed in your dining experience. We do book up quickly for weekend nights and made the patio available as an option for your party. Service is high priority and our servers must demonstrate proficiency before being assigned to wait tables. We have discussed the party with your server and the staff that assisted her and have addressed the issues you’ve brought up. Again, we regret that you were not pleased, but hope you will choose to return. - Chef Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    87
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Can't say anything bad about this beautiful restaurant. The most unique drink, jal'peno colada! Crabcake and escargot for apps. I had the redfish special, way beyond my expectations. Scallops, filet, and pork tenderloin were all excellent. Service was beyond excellent! Must try!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your dinner and the Peno Colada - it's my favorite right now, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Fine Meal Slightly Tarnished”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a lovely meal at the Copper Door in Hayesville, NC recently. The four members of my party each enjoyed a drink at the cozy bar, served by a friendly bartender, and eventually were guided to our table. We all ordered differing entrees and each was as good as the next. Our meals were prepared with care and fresh ingredients. Unfortunately, the night was slightly tarnished when it turned out that this site does not accept American Express credit cards. In addition, I was not informed of this until after presentation of the bill-and then, in a somewhat brusque manner. For a restaurant which seems to pride itself in being top flight, this is indeed an issue. I would encourage managemet to reconsider this policy just as I will reconsider returning to the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and apologize that our American Express policy could deter you from returning. While we appreciate the benefits that American Express offers it's carholders, we elect to accept American Express only online through PayPal because of the disadvantages that merchants are required to accept from American Express at the point of sale. If you would like to earn benefits from use of your American Express, please feel free to purchase a pre-paid card online at our website - http://thecopperdoor.com/index.php/gift-cards.html. Prepaid cards may be purchased in any amount and do not have an expiration date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in the most unexpected place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second visit to The Copper Door. Everything we had from the crab cake appetizer to the salmon and tuna was first rate. This restaurant compares to any fine restaurant in any big city. The service and atmosphere is also wonderful. Any visit to the Hiawasee area should definitely include a meal here. We will be back and recommend to all our friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“fabulous wine selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Copper door is tucked away in Hayesville, North Carolina just off the square downtown. The atmosphere is romantic as it's dimly lit. There is a fire place in the middle of the dining area which lends to the romantic ambiance. When making a reservation, we request a booth for privacy as there are many table packed into a small space. The waitstaff is professional and friendly. The small bar is to the front left and a quiet place to share a drink. Great steaks and seafood. A favorite for a starter is the baked brie. I would suggest making reservations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Door also viewed

Hayesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Hiawassee, GA
 
Hayesville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Copper Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Copper Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.