We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Diverse Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Cliffs Recreation Area - Neusiok Trail

Pine Cliffs Recreation Area - Neusiok Trail
1300 Ferry Road, Havelock, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Havelock
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Interesting and Diverse Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We began our 22+ mile hike of the Neusiok Trail at the Oyster Point Campground trailhead. In about 2.5 miles there is a hut and camping area and another in about 9 more miles where we spent the night. There are small 3 sided huts that fit 3-5 people. There is also a pump well at the huts, we treated the water but were told some do not. Most of the trail on day 1 was wet, soggy or worse because of the previous evenings heavy rain and mosquitos were out in force. Day 2 began by walking very carefully over a half mile slippery wooden boardwalk, mosquitos were gone due to a wonderful breeze, and after the boardwalk, the trail was mostly passable. As we neared Pine Cliffs, the trail ran along the Neuse River and a scenic beach area. The is also several miles of horse trails. If you research the trail, you will likely find a detailed description by gunny(74 or something). We had the pleasure of meeting him. Gunny is a trail angel for the Neusiok. He often checks the trails, campsites, huts, water pumps, fire rings, etc to make sure everything is in order.There is also a wildlife club (sorry, can't remember the name) that supports the Neusiok and thanks to them and Gunny we had a great backpacking trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pine Cliffs Equine Trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

13 miles of great horse trails that take you thru TALL pines,hardwoods and down to the river. This is a great place to ride until the yellow flies come out. The trails are marked red, yellow and blue and are mostly easy to follow. Caution: the red trail runs thru some swamp and is best to not try to make it thru. If you come to that part just turn around,there is plenty more trails. So far the National Forest does not allow overnight camping, but we are trying to get them to change their minds.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great place to take a hike -- bring the dog!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Take the trail along the water and back into the woods. It's beautiful! Dogs like it too! Bring plenty of water though -- it can get hot -- especially in the Summer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Looooong and Sometimes Buggy and Muddy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Love the trail when it's not too hot and humid (Fall, Winter & Spring) and hasn't rained in a while. Part of the trail follows the Neuse and can be quite scenic. Most of the trail is through forested area and can be narrow and hard to follow.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best trails I have hiked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We hiked section 1 on Saturday, January 12th. It is very evident that this trail is painstakingly maintained and groomed. I have hiked all over the country and this was one of the best. Could not have asked for it to have been marked any better. Section 1 with all the changes in ecosystems was very interesting. Read somewhere that it took 5 years to build and it sure looks it. Have never been on a trail with so many boardwalks. Only had one issue with algae growing on boardwalks that made them very slippery but we adjusted. Many thanks to the staff and volunteers who maintain this trail.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Cliffs Recreation Area - Neusiok Trail also viewed

North Carolina, United States
Havelock, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Pine Cliffs Recreation Area - Neusiok Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Cliffs Recreation Area - Neusiok Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.