We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Save Saved
You added The Breakwater Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Breakwater Inn
57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Hatteras Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Quaint hotel overlooking the sound made a lovely January weekend retreat to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Inn keeper went out of her way to make sure we were checked in and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Breakwater Inn over New Year's Eve 2013. Business was slow so the office was closed when we got there (6:30 pm, +/-), but they had left a key in the designated place. The room was easy to find and as advertised. Nothing fancy, just a good, clean room on the second floor with a view of the marina behind the inn. The price was reasonable for off-season ($74+tax). We would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

this was my second time at breakwater,stayed in the fishermans quarters this time.it was clean and comfortable. not as fancy as the other building but not as expensive either. i'm here for the fishing,just need a place to collapse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Breakwater Inn in early October again, our 2nd stay in the last five years. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated. The pillows were nice and soft and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were fully equipped with shampoo, soaps, creams etc. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on Wednesday as we were there in off-season but the helpful desk clerk gave us options to eat nearby. The large balcony facing the fishing pier was a great and relaxing way to end a day. When and if we drive back down to Hatteras, we plan to stay here again. A wonderful small hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband nor I have never written a review before on any accommodations, however this stay was so disappointing to the point of disgust and sadness, that we were moved to write, as so many people go by these reviews, as we checked these reviews before we went, and because of them decided to stay at Breakwater....well, it broke us on returning! There are no words to describe upon opening the door just how bad the stink and mustiness and horrible smell in our 2nd floor room was, and no, I do not mean that "beach smell" of wet towels, sand, etc, like many coastal lodging offers, but this was overwhelming deep musty, moldy, dirty and stunk badly and Bugs! The room was not vacuumed and the bathroom I cleaned myself. We saw 3 roaches, and yes, they were Cockroaches and we could not even kill one of the buggers! Sigh...it was overwhelmingly bad. We prayed the bed linens were clean. No one changes them out over your stay, so be aware that after you spend the day out that no housekeeping service will have been there, as in most places, and you are not told this upon check in either, however there is a notice to read after check in at the rooms. We decided to try to make the best of it and hoped that a watching a nice sunset off the terrace and airing out would make a difference. We tried to air the place out and leave the doors open, in hopes we could catch our breath to rest. It did not work at all. Due to not being able to breathe well enough in the stench and therefore not sleeping, I spent my time out of the room and on the terrace until the wee hours of the morning, as sleeping with roaches is too much to ask, and we are not youngsters, so sitting on a porch in a hard chair was not easy and we stayed outside until we could get reservations on another island at a clean place, which we did, thank Heavens! My husband and I try very hard to be kind, and we are so supportive of small business and we love Hatteras Island and vacate there every year, several times for many years, and so wanted to try and like this place. We thought this was an isolated occurrence, so we were going to request another room, but after my husband spoke with a neighbor and they also had problems with musty linens and pillows and had seen bugs and were checking out that morning, we knew requesting another room was not an option and knew we had to find another place. Upon checkout, I told my husband to please tell them how bad it was or let me, as that the right thing to do, so they would know it was very unacceptable for any person to stay in, however he tried to keep things positive and barely mentioned it to the woman at the desk and we had a great vacation after checking out and getting a modest and CLEAN room on another island. This was beyond unpleasant and we could never recommend this lodging based on our stay, and unless they correct and improve, as it could be a lovely place, if a thorough cleaning and better housekeeping for certain and definitely an exterminator in. :) Have a blessed day and good luck if this is your choice and we hope that your trip is pleasant and that your stay here is much better.

Room Tip: Terrible and the Air Conditioning unit in the wall will not get rid of the odors and opening the lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
The Breakwater Inn sincerely apologizes for your disappointing stay. We try very hard to give our guests a positive experience with a clean and enjoyable room. Our entire staff is eager to correct any problems that our guests have and I only wish we had known upon check-in of your dissatisfaction. We do make a point to inspect the rooms before arrival, however if anything was overlooked we surely would have been happy to move you to another room that was satisfactory. I am stunned to hear that you had a problem with roaches, as we had our monthly pest control service done on Sept. 24 and we have never had a complaint for that. Regardless, we would have refunded your stay if you had given us the chance. Perhaps in the future you will be kind enough to give the next business an opportunity to make things right before writing such a nasty review.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Snead
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had originally booked the fisherman quarters but when we checked it we decided to opt for the soundside double. So happy with the room! We had our three children with us and it was enough room for all of us. Durning our stay 2 of our children came down with the stomach bug and after a call to the front desk in the morning they sent someone right away and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay easier and cleaner! The quality of service my family was shown at this establishment was phenomenal! And you cant beat the view! We will defiantly be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is wonderful...on the water, overlooking a small marina in a quiet part of town. Each room has it's own balcony with wooden, Adirondack style chairs and a table...perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and the sunset. We were lucky enough to watch a fishing boat come in and see the 100+ fish they caught being unloaded onto the dock.
The woman checking us in was very friendly and helpful and each day they have fresh baked "goodies" by the coffee stand. The breakfast was a fairly simple Continental style breakfast so we went across the street to Sonny's for a sit-down breakfast.
The room was large and clean with comfortable beds. The A/C was noisy but fortunately the night was cool so we didn't need it. I would say the bathroom does need a renovation.
We would stay here again! It is not your typical, chain hotel though...it is more basic but with beautiful, natural amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the end away from office and higher up...when we visited their boiler was mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.