We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Windy but still beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Save Saved
You added The Breakwater Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Breakwater Inn
57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Hatteras Island
Hermitage PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cool and Windy but still beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We did a 3 night groupon trip and this has been a great place to stay. We had the room with 2 queen beds and the room was very clean and the view from the deck is amazing. I like how the deck area is private to each room. You are looking out over the sound and an active fishing area. It has been windy and cool while we are here but is still just so beautiful. We hiked the new Hatteras Village Trail and along the extended docks right in front of the hotel. Were able to sit on beach as the dunes protected us from the wind. Very relaxing and enjoyable time and I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sound and have private decks so I don't think there is a bad one. Not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We used a Groupon getaway and were not disappointed in our room here. It had a nice little balcony right on the sound where a lot of fishing boats docked and left around 5:30 a.m. It was cool to watch them leave in the dark. The room was comfortable with a refrigerator and microwave if needed. Everything worked just fine, bed was comfortable and room was very clean.

Room Tip: Stay in the part with view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Used a Groupon for the off season so got a great deal on the room. We were there about 2 weeks before the season officially starts (Easter) so about half the restaruants and shops were open. Our room was fabulous. We had a King suite which had a separate bedroom from the living/kitchen area. Kitchen with full size appliances. LOVED the deck overlooking the Sound, although it was a little too cold to stay out long. Same view from the large window in the living area. Would definitely come back with another Groupon deal.

Room Tip: No passenger elevator. Freight elevator very noisy. Could hear from our corner suite. Had to keep g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I got a great Groupon deal and had never been to the Outer Banks so I took advantage.

Don't be misled. Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is not in Hatteras. It is in Buxton, NC..not too far away though. On our drive to the hotel, the only road into Hatteras was closed for 3 hours due to sand and water overspray. Very scary driving through this at night (during the day too so be extra careful!) There is no barrier between the road and the water except for large mounds of sand. On the way back we had to drive through water and sand as well. If you visit anytime beside summer beware there is NOTHING to do. We visited in March. When the road was shutdown and we turned around to find something to fill our time until it re-opened, we headed down to the outlet mall in Nags Head. On a Friday night it was closed at 7 pm. All the restaurants closed by 9pm. So if you are visiting in the off-season stock your room with food. Even the hotel front desk closes at 8 pm.

As far as the hotel, the satff was very nice. The room was very basic. It did have a small kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom mirror needs replacing. Overall pretty clean. People upstairs were very noisy and we could hear everything. These rooms have exterior facing doors, motel-style. The lock was very hard to manage opening and closing. They even have signs posted on the walls outside the door telling you how to unlock and lock them. They did provide bagels and fruit, coffee, etc for breakfast in the hotel lobby. They do have a restaurant on-site, though we did not visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We used a Groupon for our stay... what a great deal, it was off season but very nice. We had a kitchen, which we used because there were not that many restaurants open, Jacuzzi tub, nice comfortable bed, nice patio deck with a view of the marina, really nice people that worked there!! I would certainly go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return when the weather is warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got a groupon to try this out in the off season. Nice rooms on the water with beautiful views and solitude. Unfortunately the heating system? was very noisy so we didnt sleep well but the beds are nice and the room was clean. So much is closed until mid March including the Breakwater restaurant and the lighthouse in Buxton. We did see gorgeous sunsets and sunrises, dolphins, deer and pelicans everywhere. The front desk let us know what was open for meals and was very helpful. Its easy to walk around the docks and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Due to Hurricane Sandy, my husband and I had to put off our trip to Hatteras for 3 months - it was worth the wait.

The Breakwater Inn is a great little hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon. The staff is so nice and accommodating, location is great, right on the sound. The view from our room was great!!

I highly recommend The Breakwater Inn!

Room Tip: All room face the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.