We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Breakwater Inn to your Saves list
The Breakwater Inn
57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Off season stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got a groupon to try this out in the off season. Nice rooms on the water with beautiful views and solitude. Unfortunately the heating system? was very noisy so we didnt sleep well but the beds are nice and the room was clean. So much is closed until mid March including the Breakwater restaurant and the lighthouse in Buxton. We did see gorgeous sunsets and sunrises, dolphins, deer and pelicans everywhere. The front desk let us know what was open for meals and was very helpful. Its easy to walk around the docks and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Due to Hurricane Sandy, my husband and I had to put off our trip to Hatteras for 3 months - it was worth the wait.

The Breakwater Inn is a great little hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon. The staff is so nice and accommodating, location is great, right on the sound. The view from our room was great!!

I highly recommend The Breakwater Inn!

Room Tip: All room face the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice getaway on the harbor of the sound side. Rooms are clean and spacious and each room has a beautiful view of the water. Comes with a free continental breakfast. Front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. Only few blocks to Atlantic side and beach.

Room Tip: Higher floor has a nicer view of sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

They need to change their sign location. The Breakwater sign is right in front of the fishermans quarters. Not a building I would want to stay in. We almost turned around and left. I am glad we didn't. That is not the new building. The room was clean and the view is incredible. I was up early (5:00) and thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the balcony and overlooking the marina. The room was not large but adequate. As a frequent traveler I thought it was far better than most. My girlfriend didn't like the tub fixtures being pitted. It gave her the idea it was not clean. I think it is the salt from the beach that does this. The rest of the room was clean so I wasn't worried at all. The one thing I didn't like is they have satellite tv (I think). The signal kept coming and going. Why was I watching TV on vacation? I don't know. I can't forget to tell you about the staff at the front desk. Very helpful. Especially since we were there in the off season. We were able to find out what was open and find a great meal. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, nc
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Really great spot in Hatteras Village. Right over Oden's dock - all the rooms in the new section have decks over the marina and the village's best restaurants & coffee shops within walking distance. Room was very clean, the staff was incredibly hospitable and accommodating. Highly recommend, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

it was not a bad stay,verry near harbor and boats, could have been better if the pump that ran every so often was a little quieter. would not have had the noise if i had stayed in the fishermans quarters. no attempt was made to rectify the situation.it sounded like the pump was tearing itself apart. restaurant seemed way over priced did not eat there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful view from sound front room. Clean. Great food at restaurant (best shrimp I ever had). We were comfortable the entire time. It was the nicest place I have ever been. We cannot wait to go back! I highly recommend. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Rooms great. Probably would get top floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.