We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Breakwater Inn to your Saves list
The Breakwater Inn
57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms with basic kitchen facilities and nice balcony overlooking the sound side marina. Very pleasant folk. Convenient to everything. Quiet, good for sleeping. Wish the window had opened so we could let in some breeze, we don't like air conditioning, but there is the door to the balcony. No elevator, but they have an electronic lift for the luggage, rather clever. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
44
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Not handicap friendly. Otherwise, very nice. Excellent location. Excellent rooms and very comfortable.Flawless check-in. Would return again. Location is great and location to other activities and sites is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If your looking to spend most of your time out on the sand or in kayaks like us & just want a place to rest at night then this may be it. Nothing fancy at all, we stayed in the Fisherman's Quarters so we could bring our pup. It served the purpose. A tad small inside, floor always felt damp & sandy to me. If you want fancier stay in the regular inn. The location is great for sportsmen & fisherman who want to be close to the fishing. The staff was very nice. Not sure if we'll be back, would probably scale up or try a larger room next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We wanted a nice clean place to stay for a couple of days and it definitely lived up to our expectations! The room (a 2 Queen bed non-smoking room) was very comfortable, clean and while they might be a bit outdated - they are in good shape. The view was beautiful and relaxing. The staff was very pleasant from the first phone call to reserve right through to our check out!! Would definitely recommend this Inn and would be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff here are very friendly and accommodating. Our room had a balcony and a beautiful view of the sound. The rooms are a bit outdated... but clean. We stayed in one of their (2) Queen bed non-smoking rooms, which were quite a bit more than the smoking rooms. Overall, we had a great overnight stay here and we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east Noriton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Im taking my family back to this fine place for,the 5th year in row. This is the only place to stay on Hatteras, clean friendly family run establishment. It's worth the 430 miles to drive for me.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We made reservations so we would be able to get a room close after coming off the ferry. Registration was very nice and friendly. We stayed in the fisherman rooms because we had our dog. ( 30.00 whether you stay a night or a week) Room was 2 double beds, nice, clean, small. Shower was a little iffy and plumbing old so don't expect luxury. We did enjoy the pool after a long day of travel and hot ferry rides. The newer building looks wonderful and I know the sunset is amazing. I would stay here again. So quiet and peaceful when we got up in am.

Room Tip: For the view choose the sound side. I understand the restaurant is excellent, but we chose another p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakwater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.