We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, large room, paper thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gull Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hatteras Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Gull Motel
Save Saved
You added Sea Gull Motel to your Saves list
Rte. 12, Box 280, Hatteras Island, NC 27943   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, large room, paper thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Walk to the beautiful Hatteras beach in less than 30 seconds. Room is large, very large with two queen beds, one sofa bed, two tables and three chairs. Refrigerator and microwave. I had to shut down the refregerator because it was way too noisy for me. Bathroom nice. Clean. Now the problems: Walls are very thin with no sound proofing of any sort. I can hear people from two rooms away!! ( if they keep talking like this when it is my bed time, bad news!) For high speed internet you have to get a cable from the office. Good! But the problem came when I tried to hook up the computer. Cable is so short that you can use the computer only on the sofabed, where there is no electrical outlet so if your keyboard does not lit up and you do not want to use your computer's batteries, you are totally out of luck! The motel building looks new and has only about 15 rooms. All occupied today ( June 4 2011). But I paid more than what I paid for a beach-front Econolodge on Virginia Beach yesterday. I stayed there for two days and had a very pleasant stay. For location as well as getting a lot of praise, this motel is charging way too much. And, office closes at 10 and opens in the morning at 8. I am neither recommending, nor not recommending simply giving you the information and letting you decide!!!.I myself would choose a cheaper option next time.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 thru 107 are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The location is the great thing. You can walk out of your room barefooted or in slippers, and in 1 minute you’re at the beach. A wooden walkway takes you from the parking lot, over the dunes and onto the sand. Two benches on the walkway on top of the dunes are nice to sit on. There is a faucet on the walk to clean your feet. There was a wooden box next to the pool with two very old chairs (I would not sit on them); I didn’t see (or ask) if the hotel had other beach items for use. Each room has two Adirondack chairs in front, a nice touch. Across the street is a deli with some good sandwiches; otherwise, you have to drive into the heart of Hatteras to eat.
We had the top floor room which was closest to the breach. You can see the ocean from this room (#116). It’s the only room with a window that directly faces the beach, and you can see the ocean above the high dunes. With the window open, you can also hear the ocean waves. But, this room also overlooks the pool. When we were there, no one used the pool. Yes, walls are thin. I could hear the television from the room below us.
The room was large and clean. Coffee pot looked dirty, so we didn’t use it. Staff gave us an internet cable so we could use the internet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed here one night on our way to Ocracoke this past Sept. Fairly new looking motel, very clean but ordinary rooms; we thought rooms were somewhat expensive for what they were. It's on the beach though you can't see ocean from the rooms due to the dunes. They do have stairs and a boardwalk over the dunes. We enjoyed sitting on the beach and watching a roiling ocean due to an approaching storm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Rooms exceptionally clean. Staff friendly. Price excellent. Location awesome.... right on beach. Rooms, however do not face ocean, so no view from room. But a quick walk over the sand dune and the beach is right there. The sleep quality was not so good. The walls and ceiling are very thin. We could hear our neighbor talking on the phone and their toddler dropped toys on the tile floor till 11:30 at night. They have a pool which is very nice and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We were on Hatteras just around dark and needed a place to sleep for the night. I thought the rate was expensive for the quality of the room and the facility. The mattresses were terrible even the bottom falling out of 1 of them and the room was really bare only 1 picture on the wall. The bathroom was very small, you even had to close the door to get to the toilet paper roll. As my review title states, "nothing special" but certainly better than sleeping outside and cleaner than I anticipated. The location with the ocean just over the dunes is probably the best thing about this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Had some issues with check in as we booked the two room apartment at the motel but were conveniently "switched" to a cottage... they said the cottage was within walking distance to the motel and beach... cottage was on the sound and a solid mile or two from the hotel. We got switched back but they booked the apartment the last few days of our trip so I'm assuming that's why they tried to switch us... no compensation was made, which was pretty lame.

Outside of that, the two bedroom room was nice... clean and had a nice kitchenette. When we switched to the two single rooms one was a smoking room, or at least it smelled that way, so that wasn't very pleasant.

The pool is very nice and a great location with very little traffic. The beach access was top notch and we could leave our stuff on the beach.

Overall, if you want to be in the Village of Hatteras area this is a great motel... quite and nice and not very spendy, especially if you get the two bedroom apt for a large family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

great motel! clean rooms, private beach, pool. Located in Hatteras Village, great food all around, and about 3 mins to the Ocracoke ferry. Will def go back, great place for the price

  • Liked — walking distance to beach and great seafood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Motel

Address: Rte. 12, Box 280, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sea Gull Hotel Hatteras Island
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gull Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.