We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Room and wake up call on Sunday by faulty fire alarm by headboard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hatteras Marlin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hatteras Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hatteras Marlin Motel
Save
You added Hatteras Marlin Motel to your Saves list
57753 NC HWY 12, Hatteras Island, NC 27943   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
virginia beach, virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty Room and wake up call on Sunday by faulty fire alarm by headboard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My Review is: DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL Trash in room, trash in basket by microwave from previous guest. On Sunday morning I was awakened by a very loud and ear splitting faulty smoke detector set off by someone else in the motel smoking in a non-smoking room....motel full of illegals, although..if you like Hispanic Rap music playing loudly at the house next door to motel property, this is the place to stay for you. I had to check out early to get away from the noise beside my headboard (the smoke detector). I called the front desk and they played dumb about it and reason for it occurring, then refused to do anything. I sent an email to manager DENNIS and he refused to give me any discount at all for my inconvenience and having to check out early because of the noise. I told him if no refund of some amount I would not stay there again, his response was to email me back and say "whats one customer?" I WOULD NEVER STAY AT THIS TRASHY MOTEL AGAIN AND I ADVISE YOU TO DO THE SAME.......

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

For those looking to save money, the Marlin motel is good enough. The rooms at the Marlin are out of date and tend to have a mixed smell of smoke and mildew. My wife and I recently stayed and had to switch rooms do to an ant problem. The front desk was extremely nice and upgraded our room, however there is still an ant problem. The overall all cleanliness of the rooms is below par. One of the highlights of the Marlin Motel is their pool and friendly staff. I would personally not recommend the Marlin unless you are on a tight budget. I plan to come back to Hatteras next year, but don't plan on staying at the Marlin Motel.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

We were checking on the construction of a investment house that was being built on the beach and needed a place to crash. There's a huge diff between these monster vacation homes and this hotel, but the diff is fair.

The location is awesome. Room are typical. Lot's of people smoking outside.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

After having read other reviews of this motel, I was a bit worried. However, my 2 night stay at the Hatteras Marlin ended up being fine. The drawbacks are: a weird smell in the rooms, sort of musty mixed with air freshener and the walls are quite thin. But on the plus side, the people at the front desk were very helpful, the hotel is just a 1 min drive from the beach and walking distance to restaurants and a local grocery store. In the end, I don't think it was worth the $130/night I paid, but considering it was Labor Day Weekend and the beauty that is Hatteras, it was just fine.

  • Liked — porches with chirs outside
  • Disliked — musty smell in rooms and really thin walls
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

After reading a previous review -- was worried about the potential smell because of no non-smoking rooms. No problem at all. They had cleaned the room nicely and I merely opened the windows to let the lovely N.C. breeze blow -- wonderful! While this is not on the beach, the grounds are nice -- well kept -- very pretty view by the water (and the beach access is only about a couple of minutes drive down the road). We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2006

The Hatteras Marlin is clean enough, with adequate furnishings, but despite a relatively recent remodeling, remains rather dingy. The biggest problem, besides an uninspired location, is that it has no non-smoking rooms, and is unwilling to designate any. It has a persistent nasty smell, a mixture of tobacco and mildew, covered with a heavy dose of floral-scented room 'deodorizer.' UGH. Even leaving the door and all the windows open doesn't help.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2004

i have stayed at the marlin for the past six years and a totel of 8 visits. this establishment has always been topnotch and provided excellent service.for the money, it doesnt get any better espscially the suites and efficientcies.thank you for the space.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatteras Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Marlin Motel

Address: 57753 NC HWY 12, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Hatteras Marlin Hotel Hatteras Island
Hatteras Island Marlin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatteras Marlin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.