We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad the other restaurant was closed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Restaurant

Sonny's Restaurant
57947 Hwy 12, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
252-986-2922
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chiang Mai
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Glad the other restaurant was closed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were going to try another restaurant, but it was closed so we asked someone on the dock where to go. They said Sonny's had both seafood and non-seafood items and is good.We both had fish and chips for our lunch. It was very, very good and we were very full. We were kind of glad that the other restaurant was closed that day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
small town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Large portions & fresh fish! NOT INEXPENSIVE, but leave full!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband had the fried seafood platter and I had a daily special of blackened wahoo, both were great! We were pleased with the quality of the seafood and portion size, although we could have shared a dinner easily and left not feeling stuffed! There was a large group being served at the same time so we understood the service was slower, but they were friendly & cared for our needs. This was not a cheap meal by any means, but we certainly left full. It was good, yet atmosphere lacked luster. It seemed that locals were regulars here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Hash!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great place for breakfast! Cheap and delicious. The corned beef hash very good (but salty). The hostess was a doll. The service was a bit slow. My suggestion for breakfast is come before 8 am and after 10 am to avoid the "rush." Good stop! We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found this restaurant when we found out that the one we had planned to go to was only opened for dinner. A clerk in a shop said this is where the locals like to go, and was he right. We had a great lunch for a very reasonable price. The server was so friendly, we really enjoyed ourselves, and the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Value, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had breakfast at Sonny's 2 times on one of the busiest holiday weekends- July 4th! The waitresses were very friendly, always smiling and very attentive. The food was consistently hot,fresh and tasty and a very good value. I was especially impressed that my eggs were cooked EXACTLY as I requested, which rarely ever happens in most restaurants. We would recommend this place to anyone and will eat there again on our next trip to Hatteras.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Restaurant also viewed

Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
Hatteras, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Sonny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.