We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sonnys” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Restaurant

Sonny's Restaurant
57947 Hwy 12, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
252-986-2922
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
LUCKEY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“sonnys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good food. LIghting was not the best. Great value for what we received. Husband had the clam chowder and said it was the best he has ever eaten. I had chicken since I am not a fish eater and for being frozen and then deep fried it was better then some places that specialize in chicken.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Ate here the last night of our stay at Outer Banks. Good food, excellent service, food came out quickly. Hush puppies served complimentary before meal. Good food for the price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Great seafood. Excellent service. A little overpriced but in tune with other restaurants in the area. I would recommend this family owned restaurant to anyone who wants a good seafood dinner!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Delicious for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

They were extremely friendly and accommodating to a group of 9 that showed up with two hyperactive little boys right before closing time on a Wednesday. The food was good and the people were nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great start to day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

When locals eat it is a good sign. Breakfast is typical southern and solid. Had eggs, corned beef hash and grits with homemade biscuits. Husband had sampler with egg, bacon, homefries and pancake. Saw local charter captain eating there. Wait staff is all family and very friendly. My coffee cup was filled regularly. Had to laugh as one woman's question: How do you cook your grits? Thought of my cousind Vinny. Waitress responded - "the way you cook them all the time." Hilarious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Restaurant also viewed

Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
Hatteras, Hatteras Island
 
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sonny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.