We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were charged fees once we returned home!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn of the Patriots B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn of the Patriots B & B to your Saves list
The Inn of the Patriots B & B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   301 Cleveland Avenue, Grover, NC 28073   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Grover B&B and Inns
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Were charged fees once we returned home!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I originally gave this B&B a great review on Bed&breakfast.com, right after we returned from our weekend getaway. However, we then saw an additional charge of $43 on our credit card from this establishment. Here is what happened: they had a cooking class on Saturday, for which they charge an additional $100 or more per person. My husband attended, but I did not. There were about 12 "chefs" who prepared the evening meal. I was the only one who did not attend the cooking class. However, when it came time to eat, I joined the group with my husband. At least 3 of the "chefs" left right after dinner and did not partake of the meal, so there was a ton of food to be eaten or else thrown away. When we returned from the trip, we realized they charged us $40 after the fact for the meal I ate. When I emailed them, they acted like they were doing me a favor by giving me a promotional rate (we used a "Living Social" certificate, as did everyone else staying there that weekend); well, it was their choice to offer this rate to everyone, not mine. They said that "in society, we have no trouble filling the rooms at our regular rate." Then why go to Living Social to fill up the rooms?? Then they had the audacity to state that the cost of food is going up! Well, believe me, for at least $100 x 12 people, $1200 is more than enough to buy some shrimp, spaghetti, chick peas, salad, bread and dessert fixings!

I wish I had waited to review this Inn on Bed&breakfast.com; I will in the future, since these people charged my credit card after the fact.

Suffice it to say, we will never visit them again, nor will we ever recommend them to anyone else!

Room Tip: Private bath; first floor - top floor is HOT
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    7
    16
    2
See reviews for
15
66
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife, 7ry old son, and myself stayed here for a night. Not having stayed at a a B&B before I was a little dubious when entering the inn.
However, it really turned out very well. If like me you are into history then coming here is great. Marti is full of stories about the house and the area. There are artifacts and books everywhere to feast your eyes and imagination on.

The breakfast was very good as was mingling wwith the other guests.
A very enjoyable, welcoming place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

You couldn't ask for better hosts than Marti and Stormy -- and of course their beautiful daughter Rania! And what more can you ask for breakfast than to have it prepared by a Former Executive Chef to the White House?! Situated in a quaint town on the edge of the NC/SC state border, there is the opportunity to stroll around the neighborhood or jump in the car for a short trip to any of a number of local attractions. I highly recommend the Inn of the Patriots to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

One of the most entertaining weekends ever! Chef Marti is a fabulous cook and storyteller. We loved our cooking lesson. Additionally, he is a historian and told colorful stories about the area. The location is full of charm in small-town North Carolina and easy to access from I85. Marti has a treasure trove of memorabilia from his military experience, as well as his years in the White House/Camp David. He provided one of the most entertaining weekends ever! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Purchased a Social Living special, which included a cooking class. The cooking class was posted as an additional $100 price, which was to include a cooking class with a former chef in the White House, and an autographed cook book. The Inn is FILLED with stuff....everywhere. It was diffucultt to find a space in our room to unpack, due to there being something on every surface...including the fake, often used, rose petals that adorned our bed and that we cleaned up. The "private bath" was a tiny closet with a toilet in it, and another tiny closet with a shower insert- very similar to showering on a boat (size wise). The sink was in the bedroom and the other side of the room from the toilet closet. Breakfast was good. The cooking class was a joke. We paid $100 per person to be taught how to make "red sauce" otherwise known as spagetti sauce -using 5 cans of tomato paste; as well as "alfredo sauce" using 4 lbs of cream cheese! Accompanied by frozen meatballs and Sam's Club frozen tortellini. The "cook book" was about a 12 page phamplet of recipes....not what one would have envisioned as a signed, autorgraphed cookbook by a former chef of the White House. The only saving grace to the weekend was the other guests, who were as equally "amazed" with the creative marketing. If it weren't for the other guests, we would have left, and they all said the same thing. This is the only harsh review we have ever written, but one that is well deserved. Buyer beware on this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at The Inn of the Patriots B & B, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We remain committed to excellence and building our small inn up better and better. Rome was not built in a day and we do seek helpful and kind feedback of loving ideas.

We understood that you folks had a tremendous argument with one another and that was unfortunate. Three guests mentioned the heated exchange in your room could be heard in the hallway and one guest had mentioned they were concerned.

Please don't then take these things out on the owners and caring family with misplaced anger. Thank you for supporting US Military, disabled veterans businesses trying to do and become better. We always seek ideas to make our inn better in writing in each room in the welcome letter, in our four page comment cards in each room and highly encourage folks to speak with us about any issue while staying - so that we can immediately fix it, correct it or make up for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

My wife found this B&B through Living Social and bought it for our Christmas present.
Marti, the owner, and his wife Stormy are both former Navy cooks and Marti was chef at Camp David and the White House. They are also involved in Revolutionary War re-enactments. So the Inn has a lot of memorabilia decorating it.
We had the Commander Cleaveland room which was very large, with a king-size bed and private bath. It was very comfortable.
The breakfasts were very good, with a nice variety of foods making them well-balanced.
My wife also bought me a cooking class with Chef Marti, which was a lot of fun. Five students and Chef Marti cooked dinner. Marti took us through everything form planning to serving. He has a very laid-back style that manages to produce a superior meal.
There are a lot of things to do around the area, in spite of being "in the country". We visited King's Mountain National Park on our way home, which was fascinating.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randleman, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We came hoping our B&B would be peaceful and enjoyable and it was all that. The rooms are beautiful with antiques, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and filling! Our hosts were very accomodating and informative. In their backyard a Revolutionary War theme was set up with tent, table, bed, chopped wood, outhouse and more. The front porch is lined with pretty white rocking chairs to relax in. We took a ride into Kings Mountain and walked the trails, it was a beautiful day. Thanks to Chef Marty, a cool character dressed in Revolutionary war outfit. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn of the Patriots B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of the Patriots B & B

Address: 301 Cleveland Avenue, Grover, NC 28073
Location: United States > North Carolina > Grover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn of the Patriots B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Inn and Bed & Breakfast run by a former Executive Chef to the President. Located in quaint Grover, NC - doorstep of the famed Kings Mountain Battlefield. Outside of Charlotte, NC on I-85. Minutes from Outlets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn of the Patriots B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Of The Patriots Hotel Grover
The Inn Of The Patriots Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn of the Patriots B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.