We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They'll Treat You Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkers Barbecue Restaurant

Parkers Barbecue Restaurant
3109 South Memorial Drive, Greenville, NC 27834
(252) 756-2388
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 240 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“They'll Treat You Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Greenville, NC, is a generally friendly town, and this is on display at Parker's. We were greeted enthusiastically, served promptly, and--when we mentioned that we were from out of town--we were given free apple turnovers.

To be honest, I'm not crazy about NC-style barbecue, and Parker's barbecue is limited to this style. (Don't expect a choice of beef ribs or pork ribs or baby backs or pulled pork or brisket or . . .) Nonetheless, the meat was tender and the portion was generous. All the fixings were fantastic.

As others have noted, it's no-frills. But Parker's is a good restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

While in Greenville, NC for Memorial Day weekend, my adult daughter and I ate Sunday lunch at Parkers Barbecue. If you like eastern NC pork barbeque and fried chicken, Parker's can't be beat--price and food are great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

parkers, is always a good choice. they serve a vinegar based barbecue. They service is always quick and the food portions are always generous, and you can get it family style if you are really hungry. Very consistent, they have been in business for generations,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good Southern BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Parkers is consistently good. Nothing fancy but the food always meets my expectations. The restaurant on Memorial Drive has nicer seating than the one on Greenville Blvd.

Even when I am eating alone, they give me a small pitcher of iced tea or cola so I can refill whenever I want.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good NC BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

One of the best bbq I've ever had,service was great. Looking forward to visiting again while in Greenville. We took a pound of bbq home with us. The restrooms certainly need some attention, but other then that good place for an affordable family meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkers Barbecue Restaurant also viewed

Greenville, North Carolina Coast
Greenville, North Carolina Coast
 
Greenville, North Carolina Coast
Greenville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Parkers Barbecue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkers Barbecue Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.