We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yerbabuena

Yerbabuena
206 SW Greenville Boulevard, Greenville, NC 27858
(252) 412-4722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 223 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Give it a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had lunch here several times and have no complaints about the food or service. The lunches are reasonably priced and a healthy alternative to fast food. The manager always thanks us for coming and I would not hesitate to tell him if I had a problem. The service has been good, but the food does take a little time to prepare. We think it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The food was terrible, and the service was poor at best. My cuban sandwich was about the size of two fish sticks - very small- and had no mustard, tough, overly grilled bread( you couldn't eat it),no pulled pork - just a slab of VERY fatty pork( about 60% fat), and a dill pickle spear out of a jar( no sliced pickles). It wasn't even hot. There were only four other diners there, so they weren't busy. We pretty much were ignored the whole time we were there - maybe because we weren't Latin. Our waitress was never in sight. The restaurant was nicely appointed though, and was clean. My companion's food wasn't any better than mine, and she had the same opinion about the waitress. I would never go back, nor would I recommend this establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“latin cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had dinner with friends who had not been to the restaurant before. The meals were excellent, the wait staff was friendly, and attentive. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the atmosphere. We will be returning with more friends who have not been there before. The manager was friendly and upon request gave us a short overview about the restaurant and how they decided on the menu

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Subpar, overpriced, strange atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place had potential, but it fell way under mark. We started by ordering drinks and their signature drink wasn't even available, so we ordered two other drinks that took forever to get to us, were way overprice, and just average tasting. The meals were below average and way over priced as well, I got one of the fancy named burgers which was relatively tasty but way overcooked--aka burnt. The other meal we got was some shrimp meal with shrimp that was also way overcooked, very chewy and unappetizing, we had to send it back. The best thing they have is their homemade chips. Otherwise, this place could use some improvements.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sad and very dissatisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

For a costumer that has been there at least 10 times in the past, it goes beyond sad and disappointing what my group of friends had to endure this time around.
One of them had already told me that the management had changed from an extremely charming knowledgeable guy who we always liked because he was there fixing everything that could potentially be wrong, to a gentleman who barely speaks English, has very poor communication skills and lacks any insight on their own menu...for God's sake! I had to rectify many of the things that came out of his mouth that were not only wrong, but showed a complete ignorance of cooking methods and kitchen equipment. Second of all...what happened with the charming bartenders who knew their trade and were soooooo good! We had to settle for soda because those drinks were undrinkable! They used to have the best margaritas and mojitos ever! Now they are not even subpar!
Third of all...terrible, terrible service! Our food took more than 45 minutes and these were items that we knew didn't take long since most of us had been there many times. The amazing yuca fries were changed to disgusting Goya style frozen yucas that clearly were cut in to smaller pieces, the delicious calamari was now an amalgamation of tentacles and burnt breading. The rice was now an after thought of white rice with canned corn. The Oje de Bife that I always ordered came almost burnt and chewy. Items that I believe they keep braising for hours and are just supposed to be plated, salads that would never take more than 5 minutes anywhere and a soup...how long does it take to plate a soup! Not 45 minutes if they had to make it from scratch. This is not an exageration it took them from the time we asked if our food was ready to come out until we got it 45 minutes. And the manager? He avoided us the whole night! Not only did he never checked on us, but when we sent EVERYTHING back he never bothered to see what had happened or suggested a way to make our experience better...needless to say the restaurant was almost empty...staff kissing at the bar, a horrible smell emanating from the bathrooms, dirty silverware, greasy water glasses and to top it all of...we were charged for desserts that yes we had ordered, but given that the meal had been so bad we didn't want to venture with them...the waiter who was extremely disappointed couldn't do anythint because it was a manager's comp and he just didn't want to do it. I waved at him several times and I can swear he hid in the kitchen just to avoid us...$220 dollars less we left to never come back. Miss the days when they opened and their old staff and food were the best that Greenville had to offer...definitely from what I heard from a lot of people it just keeps getting worse. What a shame, they had so much potential.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yerbabuena also viewed

 

Been to Yerbabuena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yerbabuena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.