We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! New Owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Chophouse

University Chophouse
3130 Evans St, Greenville, NC 27834-6262
252-439-2467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
University Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 240 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Greenville Boulevard
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food! New Owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The new owner is great! They are redoing the menu and the food is wonderful. Amazing Shrimp & Grits and Salmon. All the appetizers are very good. Just work with the waitstaff they are learning and doing all things to make this place the Best Up-Scale Restaurant in Greenville!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    9
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mt gretna pa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Upscale atmospere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Comfortable lounge. Good wine selection. Great place to relax. Very attractive decor. Big city feel. Well prepared steaks. A little pricey for locals, but, reasonable to people with wider experiences.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hot, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I am a resident of a neighboring city. I visit Greenville often. I ate with some colleagues at the Chophouse for lunch. There weren't many people when we visited, but I really liked the decor. It is modern and has various seating levels. We actually sat on bar stools at our table. The service was quick and the food arrived hot. It was tasty. Everyone was satisfied.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good food and good size portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Went to the University Chophouse with colleagues from work. Had a nice beer and after two appetizers (split among 3) and a wedge salad was absolutely stuffed. The meal was also wonderful but, believe me, you'll leave here full. Service was great. All the food was wonderful and as I mentioned, you won't get cheated on the portions.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great fish and steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Came here for a work meeting and enjoyed the meal very much, though the seating was tight with larger empty tables available.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University Chophouse also viewed

Greenville, North Carolina Coast
Greenville, North Carolina Coast
 
Greenville, North Carolina Coast
Greenville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to University Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.