We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed, terrible shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Greenville NC

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Greenville NC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Greenville NC
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Waterford Commons Drive, Greenville, NC 27834   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Greenville
Concord,nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great bed, terrible shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Bad checkin experience, but I will give a pass as they were training a new person. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable with great pillows as well. I am not sure if the showerhead in my room is indicative of all others, but it was terrible. I am sure it is a watersaver showerhead, but the flow was terrible. If you are looking for an invigorating shower, you won't find it here. This hotel is off the main road, so no traffic noise to deal with. There is no free breakfast, but I knew that going in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fow, Owner at Candlewood Suites Greenville NC, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We have been working with the City of Greenville to help us with the water pressure. The guest was correct about the water saving shower head, a requirement of construction. We have recently changed our shower heads. The new shower head is designed for situations of low water pressure ands allows for a much higher flow. We have had very good response from our guests during the month of May when we started changing out the heads. Please stay with us again and let us know if we have solved the problem to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
20
7
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I wanted to surprise my husband with a Valentine get away night away from the kids. I contacted the hotel to ask a question and Lynn, the GM, offered to help in any way she could. When my husband and I walked in our room, it was decorated beautifully with rose petals, chocolates, beer and water!!! I was totally shocked and very very pleased!!! The front desk was extra nice as well. We will definitely visit you again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was there for a conference. There was an excellent work table, a full kitchen, luxurious and comfortable bedding, a well-equipped workout room, and even a barbecue grill out back! They had everything I could want in a hotel, and at a very reasonable price compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

....but that's about it. Nothing special. Room was small and pretty dark. Bed and bedding were comfortable - very soft. Shower pressure was awful - just a drizzle. I also don't like the Candlewood practice of not cleaning the rooms daily. Homewood Suites is a similar style, but their rooms are still cleaned daily. Part of the pleasure of staying in a hotel is having someone else clean up for you, fresh towels and sheets, etc. That doesn't happen here.
Still, it was quiet and clean and available when we needed it. So would we stay again? Maybe --- if our regular favorites weren't available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a situation where Hotels.com double booked our stay. Joanie the desk clerk took upon herself to correct the mistake with hotels.com. Her professionalism was exceptional in correcting the problem while always having a Smile on her face. Joanie is a great asset to Candlewood Suites. Jim

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I'm a distance ed student at ECU, and I come here for an overnight stay maybe twice a year. This is where I've stayed for my last three trips. My room was definitely clean. However, I did have some neighbors who kept their TV inappropriately loud at 1:00 AM. I was just short of calling the front desk to report them when they turned their TV off. The lack of a regular breakfast doesn't bother me at all. This location isn't the most convenient to ECU's central campus, but it works.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fow, Owner at Candlewood Suites Greenville NC, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for being a valued guest at the Candlewood Suites. Please feel free to notify the front desk anytime you are disturbed by by an adjacent guest or have a problem of any type. We want you to be comfortable and enjoy your visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this property the first week of June 2012. We were in the area to visit my sister and her family. My nephew was going through chemo . We were satisfied with the 1 bedroom suite we stayed in. We were traveling with our mini dachshund that weighs about 13 pounds. During our stay, when approximately 4 feet away from our door, a guest across the hall opened his door with his dog. He dropped the leash and his dog (approximately 40 pounds) attacked our dog. It was so scary; I could not even see our dog. My husband had to pull his dog off our dog and all we could hear was her crying. The other guest had his dog on a retractable leash. The other guest went down to the front desk and said our dog attacked his dog. How amazing that a 13 pound dog would be capable of attacking a 40 pound dog! I also went down to talk to them and mentioned the type of leash that he was using because you have no control with those types of leashes. The staff never apologized or talked to them about the leash. I was so glad to get out of there. I never let my dog walk inside by herself again during our stay.

We went back to this property on August 24th and checked out on August 30th. The trip was to attend my nephew's funeral. I made the reservation through the central number. I am a platinum member of priority club which entitles me to a free upgrade. The reservationist stated that I should not have a problem getting a one bedroom using the upgrade but to call a day prior to check-in. When I called, I was first told that they did not have any 1 bedrooms available because there was a football game at the university that weekend. I knew that wasn't true because my brother is an alumni member goes to all the home games and that there wasn't a games until labor day weekend. They told me that some people would be checking in early. We were leaving on Thursday and they stuck by their story. I asked my brother if people would be checking in that early and he said no. They then put me through to the manager and she stated that they do not allow pets in their 1 bedrooms. This is not stated on their website. I explained that I would be staying for a week and that the reason for the stay was for a funeral. She said they were under new management and couldn't allow it. I called guest services at priority club and was told that they should have updated their web page if that is their rules.

I could have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express with my pets which would have been a lot closer to my sister and would have had the same amount of space. I will not be staying at this property again. They should state on their web page that pets are only allowed in their regular rooms that way people traveling with pets are not deceived.

Room Tip: Pets not truly allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fow, Owner at Candlewood Suites Greenville NC, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Candlewood Suites. I am sorry for the loss of your nephew and hope your next visit to family in Greenville will be a much happier time. We enjoyed having you and your pet and do apologize for not being able to provide the room up grade you requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Greenville NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Greenville NC

Address: 1055 Waterford Commons Drive, Greenville, NC 27834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Greenville NC 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Hotel Greenville NC, Greenville's extended-stay hotel, is close to Vidant Medical Center Hospital, formerly Pitt County Memorial Hospital, the VA Super Center Medical Clinic, East Carolina Heart Institute, ECU Health Science Campus, ECU Dental School, ECU School of Medicine, the Children's Hospital of Eastern North Carolina, and offers special medical patient and family discounts. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Greenville NC is conveniently located minutes from the ECU Main Campus & Athletic Complex, the Greenville Convention Center, PGV Airport and is convenient to Greenville's major corporations including Attends, ASMO, Convergys Corp., DSM Pharmaceuticals, Grady-White Boats, NACCO, Overton's and we are the closest hotel to Alliance One in Farmville NC.. Candlewood Suites Hotel Greenville NC puts the amenities where they really count, in your room. Cook meals in your fully-equipped kitchen and relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business and government travelers to Greenville can work more efficiently by utilizing executive desks and free high speed wired and wireless Internet access in every room. For personal efficiency, take advantage of the Candlewood Suites Hotel Greenville NC's free guest laundry while exercising in our Candlewood Gym. Stay at the Candlewood Suites Hotel Greenville NC for your visit to the Greenville NC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Greenville NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Greenville Nc Hotel Greenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Greenville NC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.