We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to lodge at!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barry's Walnut Island

Barry's Walnut Island
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barry's Walnut Island
Save
You added Barry's Walnut Island to your Saves list
169 Walnut Island Blvd, Grandy, NC 27939   |  
Hotel amenities
Hightstown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to lodge at!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a long getaway weekend, so relaxing, clean, and reasonable. Excellent casual atmosphere in the restaurant and Bar. Convenient to the beaches and Muddy motor sports. We had a great time, the staff and owners were very accommodating. I will be returning in the near future!!! Thank you all so much, By the way everything from app to the NY strip was awesome.... See you real soon...........!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were on a bicycle tour heading southward toward the Outer Banks. Near the end of our day, several miles from the only motel we could find in this area, we went to a supermarket. While my wife was shopping I got on the i-pad to check Trip Advisor reviews for our targeted motel. They were really bad. As I was doing this, a woman approached me. We talked about our trip and she asked where we were staying. I said I was no longer sure. She said to go across highway 158 about a quarter mile to the water. There's a nice spot there. Ask Barry for room #6. We did. It was an older place with small rooms that had recently been redecorated. It was clean, reasonably priced and tastefully decorated. The staff (and Barry) were most helpful. The attached restaurant and sports bar were very good, although all we tried was beer and pizza.

It is not a place you would run across as there was no signage for the motel on the highway, due to some bylaw. That is a shame as it truly was a find, in an area desperate for good accommodations.

By the way, the woman was Barry's wife, and decorator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

An uncomfortable first impression is completely blown away by top line service from the very friendly, open and attentive staff. The rooms are quaint, comfortable and have been tricked out by Barry's wife into cosy personal cabins that do the job just fine. Importantly for us the rooms were clean and dry and smelled great with no cigarette aroma at all.
For dinner we tried the Barry Cut Rib Eye and were presented with a huge cut of beautifully tender and perfectly cooked steak which hasn't been matched since. Also worth trying are the Crab Balls which are delicately sweet and dangerously good (if you don't check yourself you could eat these all night and keep the beer flowing!).

Make no mistake Barry's is not a hotel which sounds rough but is not a criticism because what Barry's lacks in foyer area and underground parking is made up for ten fold by the outstandingly friendly staff and the best steak I've had in ages.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the bar and make sure you try the Crab Balls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place on Friday before our beach house started Saturday. Don't come here thinking there will be a reception desk after hours. We came in at 930 pm and had to ask the bartender for the key. Not too much of a problem as the bar was a couple steps from the front desk. A great value at $65 a night! No food after 9pm. It is a motel, and our room was small, but clean and comfortable. A nice view of the sound and an osprey nest. The walls are paper thin. Ask to be placed as far as possible from the bar. It is a biker bar, and is probably crazy during bike week. It was really tame in July, though. If your expectations aren't high and you need a place to sleep, this will work.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barry's Walnut Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Walnut Island

Address: 169 Walnut Island Blvd, Grandy, NC 27939
Location: United States > North Carolina > Grandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grandy
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barry's is a full service family restaurant serving American Foods and specializing in Local Seafood, Steak, and Pizza meals. A sports bar and a 12 room lodge adjoins the restaurant. A protected inland marina with a boat ramp, including RV hook up sites with 50, 30, and 20 amp plug in, city water and a dump station. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barry's Walnut Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.