We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Happ's Place

Happ's Place
5914 N. Hwy 107, 6 Fern Bank Road, Glenville, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Glenville
Cuisines: American
Description: Glenville-Cashiers area of western NC
Restaurant details
Description: Glenville-Cashiers area of western NC
Sapphire, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have been to Happs before and it's always been a good place to bring family. The food was always good but not great. This time we didn't get to try the food. We called before going trying to make reservations for 3, having forgotten that reservations are only for large parties. We asked how things looked for dinner if we came in then and we were told it looked good. Well it takes us 20 minutes to get there and at that time there were 2 other people ahead of us. We were told a table would be available shortly. Time passes and large groups start arriving. They all had reservations which apparently no one took in to consideration when looking at tables that would be available. We waited about half an hour and could see that so many people would be ordering ahead of us that the kitchen would be slammed. We still hadn't been seated at that point. We left and so did others waiting. This was on a Wednesday night. If we go back it won't be until the busy season ends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“An unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was up in the mountains for a girls weekend and Happs was recommended to us as a great casual place to eat and it lived up to that praise. When we first walked in, we thought it was going to be like the local elks club as the decor was similar to that, but we were wrong. The food was amazing and the menu was impressive. They had everything from Italian meatloaf to local Trout dishes as well as some with a German or Asain flair. I highly recommend the Parmesan trout and the Blackberry cobbler as they were both amazing. The wait staff was extremely friendly and pleasant. This place is very comfortable and it appropriate for anyone including families with small children. If you miss out on this while you're in the area it would truly be a shame.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Tonight was our first time ever visiting Happs. The food was pretty good I ordered the chicken fried steak and fried chicken combo tasty but not near enough gravy. The wife ordered the Trout almondine which was very good. We ordered two desserts to go and did not look at them in the restaurant. Upon getting them home found them to be rather small for the price. But the desserts were very tasty so if price is not an issue the food is pretty good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just a great place to go have good food with family and friends. Randy is always so friendly and does a great job. The food is always good and they make us feel at home. Back to the decor ..... That's just the way it's been for 30 plus years that wild hog on the wall is just part of experience . Don't judge the book by the cover. Local employees and locally owned. That says a lot for having a great place to eat. When in Glenville check out the great menu from frog legs to chicken livers to the pasta with seafood .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We love going to our summer hang out.. When our friends come from Charlston we always go to Happs and eat. Great service always friendly employees.. The frog legs are amazing . Can't wait till spring till they open..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happ's Place also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to Happ's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happ's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.