We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Glen Alpine

Inn at Glen Alpine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Glen Alpine to your Saves list
Inn at Glen Alpine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Davis St, Glen Alpine, NC 28628   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Alpine
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is such a wonderful B&B to visit, Jane was great and super accommodating despite our last minute, day-of reservation and late arrival. Gorgeous house (not overly stuffy like some B&B's tend to be), the room (Magnolia Suite) was wonderful and spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable - absolutely loved it. Had a great stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked at the last minute (the morning of our stay) on Kayak and since it was our first B&B visit, did not think to call the innkeeper to confirm. We arrived around 6:00 PM and the innkeeper was totally surprised to see us, since Kayak had not informed her we were coming. She was very gracious, told us the room was ready except she would need to vacuum and dust, which she does not do until the morning of a booking. She asked if we would mind sitting either inside or outside on the gorgeous front porch while she finished up the room. We didn't mind waiting, I felt bad for her that she didn't expect us. The room was so comfortable, the porch was the perfect place to just sit and rock and breakfast in the morning was delicious. As was the company of the other guests. It was such a great experience. We will definitely stop there again. Be sure to call the Innkeeper BEFORE you book with a travel site like Kayak, you might get a better price!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Room, it has a lovely sitting area and since we are readers we thoroughly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went up to the mountains of NC for a short weekend of shopping in Hickory for furniture. This B&B was not very far from there. Owner was extremely nice and a great cook. She was very helpful in advising us what kinds of restaurants and activities that were close to the Inn. Rooms were clean and spacious. Would recommend this Inn to anyone going to that area. Downtown Morganton was really cute and lively. The city has done a wonderful job in restoring downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Up to visit nearby family after a long drive, and it is so nice to be in such an accommodating inn. Jane has thought of everything and makes you feel right at home. Rooms are large, tastefully appointed and very clean. Breakfast is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lots of B & B's have good food, and/or nice rooms, and/or a charming atmosphere, and/or a fun, funny, congenial hostess, but The Inn at Glen Alpine had it all. The owner, Jane, has a passion about the inn and the guests - it was evident from our greeting to our good-bye. She is someone you would like to have for a best friend. Her life's stories are fascinating - and the wine and nibbles were pretty good, too! The location was convenient to Morganton, Lake James and only 30 minutes from Black Mountain - neat place - and 45 from Asheville. The town and the inn is a step back in time - it will not disappoint.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Magnolia Room - great bed, great bath, and a separate sitting room with a lovely tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our stay was most comfortable in the Country Garden Room. A bright, clean, comfortable room with lovely furnishings, but not "overly furnished" like some B&B's. Jane is very accommodating and friendly. She made a nice cheese, cracker, and fruit plate for our porch sitting/visiting upon our arrival. She also shared great stories about the Inn and her own journey to being an innkeeper (at our request).

I was concerned that upon our return from a concert about 15 miles away that brought us back about 11:00 p.m., that we would awaken or disturb the innkeeper or the other guests, but she met us at the door with a smile, anoffer of a snack, and a turndown of our bed.

Breakfast was excellent with fruit, yogurt, granola, apple pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon, sweet rolls, and coffee/tea. She makes a special effort to accommodate special dietary needs or dislikes, so speak up if you have such needs.

The rates for the rooms are very reasonable, very similar to chain hotels, but with great personalized service and a wonderful atmosphere and food that you might not find in hotel.

The only thing that could be considered a downside is that a train runs about 100 yards from the Inn, through the town, sometimes through the night. However, while we heard the train, we just felt it added to the small-town experience.

Our travel schedule allowed us to spend only one afternoon and night in the Inn, but we hope to return when we're in the area and spend more time there. It's a lovely Inn in a beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: We didn't see any of the other rooms, as they were also occupied, but we enjoyed the Country Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We traveling from the Great Smokey Mountains NP north my wife and I stopped near Asheville NC and stayed at the Inn at Alpine Glen. From the large relaxing porch to the warm greetings from the Innkeeper Jane, our stay could not have been better. Within an hour of the Biltmore Estate, it overlooks the mountains of the Blue Ridge. Great local restaurants were recommended by Jane. Quiet, relaxing, spacious rooms, great breakfasts and a wonderful host all added to the experience. We will definitely return when visiting the area.

Room Tip: The magnolia room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Glen Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Glen Alpine

Address: 105 Davis St, Glen Alpine, NC 28628
Location: United States > North Carolina > Glen Alpine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Glen Alpine 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Glen Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Glen Alpine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.