We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food-super slow service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
2656 E Franklin Blvd, Gastonia, NC 28056-7212
+1 704-854-3440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 197 restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Conover, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super food-super slow service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You cannot beat the cheesy cheddar burger and those great fries! I have never had any food there that wasn't wonderful, and I believe that is the case with other customers as well because the service has been bad every time I have eaten there. On some occasions, it takes a while for anyone to acknowledge you are there and need to be seated. Other times I have been seated and waited for an unreasonable amount of time for wait staff to take our order. The last visit, the restaurant was about half full and we waited 40 minutes for our burgers and fries once we placed our order.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    3
    2
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Late night snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This town rolls up its sidewalks early so there are very few places to get something to eat late night. I went on a Saturday night when they are open 24 hours and went thru the drive thru. It was a little slow and they apparently make everyone pay and pull up to wait. However they were nice enough and the food was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The burgers taste greasy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The burgers taste greasy. If you like burgers that are greasy , then its good. Greasy food like that turns my stomach though. I think their milkshakes are really good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramerton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Franchise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

If you have eaten at a Steak and Shake this one is not special or different.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“good quality reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

All areas good, good price quality food and good service. Best dollar tea around and only 50 cent during happy hour 2 till 4. be.en several times and will continue to go back

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak 'n Shake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.