We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Charley's

O'Charley's
1601 E Franklin Blvd, Gastonia, NC 28054-4738
704-865-6633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 197 Restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is always a good choice when you really don't know what you want. The soup is always good. Sometimes it's not hot, but they will take care of that. Every waiter/waitress I have ever had has been wonderful. Staff seems to enjoy working there. My water/tea glass is always kept filled. Lots of food choices. Good prices and usually a coupon code on reatailmenot.com they honor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was slow...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

First time to check it out, went on a Sunday about 1 PM just after the lunch rush.
We had the shrimp and grits and a fancy chicken salad. Bother were pretty good.
Service was slow, painful at times, if it was better we would have been tempted to give 4 stars for the good food. Place was a little run down but all in all not too bad.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were tired and looking for something quick. This proved to be a good choice. The menu is varied and we found the food to be be quite good. Our waiter was energetic and very friendly. The bar trade does appear to be an important part of their business, but it was very cold on the night we were there and the bar was not crowded and thus, not noisy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

For a restaurant of this size and having been newly remodeled, I expected at least a decent meal. What our family got was terrible service, dirty silverware and food that tasted like it had been sapped of all flavor and reheated in the microwave.

The booths killed my back. They were so low and far back it was like being a little kid sitting at the grown-ups table.

We waited over ten minutes for someone to take our drink order. That only happened after flagging down three people. Then we had to wait another really long time to a) get our drinks and b) place an order for food. The manager pretended to care, but never did anything to make it better. The server just plain did not care.

The food also took a very long time to come out. Once we got it, we wished they would have kept it in the kitchen. It was disgusting. I couldn't bring myself to eat more than a few bites.

Another irritating bit. They actually brought out our meals before we ever got the appetizers.

Again, the staff didn't care whether we liked it or not. There was no effort to make the experience better. We paid our bill, left and went someplace else to eat.

There are plenty of really good, comparably priced restaurants less than five minutes down the road. Skip this nasty place and go somewhere that actually cares about its customers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia
1 review
“Regional mgr. Rick Clark Restaurant no.331”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family and I eat at O'charley s 1 or 2 times weekly. We have always had a pleasant experience. However, on July 9 2013, my party was waiting on our favorite server, as we often do, when a manager (Elaine Tucker) came up to the hostess and proceeded to chew her out for not having us seated yet. Our server had literally just walked in. It was our choice not to be seated yet. Tucker talked so hatefully to the hostess, who by the way was doing an excellent job, that it even made me and my party uncomfortable. Tucker embarrassed the hostess in front of several customers when she hadn't done anything wrong. Tucker acted unprofessional and disrespectful to her subordinates. Tucker may need to take a class on when, where, and especially how, to speak to her employees. Thanks for reading. Costner62@gmail.com

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Charley's also viewed

 

Been to O'Charley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Charley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.