We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and a movie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino's Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Portofino's Italian Restaurant
3637 E Franklin Blvd, Gastonia, NC 28056
(704) 824-2142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 197 Restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Gastonia, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner and a movie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I went to Portofino's as a reference from one of my dates' close friends. I must say we were a little put of about it being in a store front. He was worried about the amount of seating available or if there was any at all. The restaurant has a bar in the front and plenty of seating, possibly enough for large parties with reservation. I had the salmon salad and he had the chicken salad. The price was great for the amount of food received. The salmon salad was good; nothing I couldn't make at home. He mostly picked through his chicken salad because of all the extra that was in it. Overall it is a nice place for a dinner and then a movie.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    9
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a great Italian restaurant. I loved the pasta and their fresh baked bread.

I also had a cannoli and it was fabulous. Really hit the sweet spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way down 85 towards Atlanta because we wanted something besides fast food. We were a little unsure about an Italian restaurant in a strip mall, but were very pleased. The portions are huge, so my husband and I split the veal special. They do have a $5 split charge, but it was very reasonable considering the fact that we both got a salad (with the great house dressing) and a still rather large portion each. We thought it was outstanding. We were also very impressed with the service. Although the atmosphere isn't quaint or particularly attractive, everyone was very friendly, and we enjoyed our visit here. Follow the signs to Applebee's from 85 and you'll find this restaurant in the same shopping center. Worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Look in the Shopping Center - you will find it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stopped by here on the way through Gastonia. It was very good. I tried the Spaghetti with Bolognese sauce. Wife had noodles with butter, Garlic and broccoli , Food was good. Was disappointed with the Garlic bread. Was a toasted bun with a slice of cheese and garlic. I want garlic rolls or knots.

i would go back - just not for the bread.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“RANCID, ROTTING SEAFOOD!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I ordered mussels with white sauce, a favorite dish of mine... in most cases...
When I took a bite of a mussel, I found that it had a horrible taste. The mussels that were served to me were rancid and partially decomposed. When I could finally get the waitresses attention, she was not apologetic at all. I expected the manager or ANYBODY in charge to come to my table to address the situation, but it did not happen.
Yes, the waitress comp'd the mussels. We paid for my husband's meal and the drinks feeling as though the staff, management, OWNERS do not care. I got very ill in the parking lot (I guess that's what happens when you take a bite of decomposed shellfish).
I located the restaurant's website after returning home and sent them an email expressing my concerns. I included my phone number and email address and let them know that I was hoping for a response. I've been waiting for a couple of weeks and have not gotten one at all.
I can guarantee that I will never eat at Portofino's again and I will let anybody who will listen know that they proudly serve food that can make you sick and kill you.
If you value your health at all, STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Portofino's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.