We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
501 N New Hope Rd, Gastonia, NC 28054-7408
704-866-4533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 197 restaurants in Gastonia
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Clover, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

For the $ you spend here, it should have been so much better. Ordered the blooming onion to start and it came out in less than 5 minutes. Obviously cooked, and waiting on someone to order it. Bottom part of it was saturated in grease. So much so, I was wishing for a paper napkin to sop some of it off. Steak was cooked perfect, sweet potato was overdone. Tried the new wood fire grilled on steaks, and won't do that again-- would be good for salmon, but not so much for a steak (in my opinion). Decent service, once we got a waiter (sat in the bar area). Overall, just average.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    16
    12
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“To expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

When back for lunch again still not impressed with food or serve! Food better at night will not good bad for lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I usually love this restaurant but the past two times visiting hasn't been so pleasant. They do have excellent service but the cooks here lately has not been cooking to well. My salad had a lot of brown lettuce to it and I had to pick out much of it. Then we had received two loaves of bread and the first was so badly toasted it was burnt on the ends and you couldn't even eat it. So we had asked for some more and the second was cold and really soft as if not even cooked. Then with our entrees we both ordered steak and one was medium and the other medium well. The medium was well done and the medium well was charred on the outside and very tough to chew. We will not be returning to this Outback unless the food changes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went on Sunday afternoon ! Didn't care for lunch menu smaller portion so we got Dinner menu got a larger steak for same price as smaller steak on lunch menu! Steak was very tender cooked just right! We enjoyed our. Meal very much & will go back! Serve was very good & wait wasn't long for lunch. Price is same as other steakhouse! Also it was very clean & friendly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice steak and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved the Aussie touch..being Australian our server was really interested in everything Australian. We really enjoyed our night & our server Polish Stan.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.