We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of a chain but new in Gastonia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 24

Tavern 24
421 Cox Road, Gastonia, NC 28054
704-864-0688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 197 Restaurants in Gastonia
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Part of a chain but new in Gastonia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Tried this place last night and from the outside looks good. Inside is more of a sports bar place which isn't really what my wife and I were looking for but I have to say that the food isn't bad at all. I had the prime rib with wild rice and my wife had a burger. Both were very good. I was hesitate on getting a steak but that's what I wanted. I'm glad I did. For the money, not bad at all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best patio dining in Gastonia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have eaten at Tavern regularly since opening and love the patio. Heaters on the ceiling everywhere so its very nice even on a winter night. We were very pleased to learn the patio is smoke free, smoking only allowed at the fire pit. Disappointing if you want to be near the fire pit, but we will take what we can get for now. The food is very good, drinks too. We usually ask for a very attentive server named, Josh. He really takes care of you and is fun! Gastonia, NC needs more restaurants like this, fun atmosphere, good food, good drinks and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Tavern 24”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Tavern 24 a great place to go and eat and have a drink.Food is great.
Great place to go and me people and if you like sitting outside they have that to.They have tv all around you that you can watch.I am so glad that we got a tavern 24 in gastonia nc.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable night with friends watching the football playoffs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, place was pack it was Saturday night football playoffs, but regardless of the crowd the service was great. Brittany our server took care of us great customer service. I will return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Greek Burger would have been tasty but was completely raw in the middle, manager brought me a new burger that was also completely raw in the middle. I declined another entree as my party was finished with their meal and was given a $10 gift card for my next visit. I have eaten here before and really liked it but this visit was not a good experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at Tavern 24, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Greek Burger. We agree that it is unacceptable for this to happen, and does not live up to the high standards we expect of our team. Please accept our apologies and thank you for your feedback as we can’t get better without it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tavern 24? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 24, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.