We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, great quality food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jia Asian Fusion & Sushi Bar

Jia Asian Fusion & Sushi Bar
3826 S New Hope Road, Gastonia, NC
(704) 879-9344
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 181 Restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic, great quality food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Sushi at this restaurant is incredible and well prepared. Presentation is attractive as well. The staff is very kind and attentive. This restaurant is a hidden gem located in a small strip mall on New Hope Road. It is well worth the journey from Gastonia. Hot meals are well prepared also. I have had the Teriaki Chicken dinner and it is flavor able, juicy, and tender. The sushi chef left Sakura in Gastonia and started his own restaurant. He is doing a fine job. I have eaten here before, ate here on June 27, 2013, and will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gastonia Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a great surprise ! This was our first visit and we'll be back. Suzan was our server. Got quick drink service, found the menu has a very wide variety. We started with a great tuna roll and lettuce wraps. The lettuce wrap was the best we've had, great flavor. Only glitch--my wife does not like spicy but her Shanghai Shrimp in garlic sauce came with Szechuan peppers and was very spicy. We told Suzan and she apologized explaining that the heat rating for her dish was misprinted on the dinner Fortunately she whisked away the dish and assured us that the kitchen could fix any dish on the menu minus the heat. Quickly the replacement dish arrived and it was perfect. You can order brown rice for 50 cents more, worth it. Can't believe this cute little place isn't rated higher in TripAdvisor. We will certainly be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice small Asian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This isn't a large well decorated Asian restaurant it's located in a strip mall setting, but they do a good job of making it a nice sit down dinning experience. You are waited on by waiters and they have beer and wine as well. The menu is mix of Thai and Asian fare with plenty of good quality Sushi. The staff is friendly and the prices are not to bad plus they are willing to alter any dish to suit your needs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This place is worth the trip down new hope road, sushi chef used to work at Sakura. The food was fantastic, lots of variety! We can't wait to go back and try the other dishes. The sushi was fresh and lots of interesting rolls and combinations.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesting Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This newer fusion establishment is tucked out of the way off New Hope Road, but it is worth the trip, especially if you like unusual sushi combinations.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jia Asian Fusion & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Jia Asian Fusion & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jia Asian Fusion & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.