We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent priced Sunday Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmberJack Seafood & Steaks

AmberJack Seafood & Steaks
4253 S New Hope Rd, Gastonia, NC 28056-8453
704-824-5502
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 197 Restaurants in Gastonia
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent priced Sunday Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Recently went there after church with my family to check out the Sunday buffet. The price was the draw. At less than $9.00 a person I was curious about whether or not the food would taste canned or home-cooked. Very pleased. Fried chicken was hot and crispy. Delicious fried squash with breading that actually stayed on during the frying process. Nice salad bar that included fresh fruit. We went before 12:00 PM and didn't have any wait time. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs a good scrubbing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The food is OK, especially the buffet, but the atmosphere is substandard. They need to scrub the whole place starting with the walls, tables, chairs and floor. The "decor" on the walls is just a bunch of junk nailed up on the walls, with no particular theme. They need to lose most of that and paint the place a pleasant color. We saw food in bulk stored outside the bathroom door in a dark hallway. Every toilet in the ladies room was stopped up or would not flush and half the doors were off. These things have to factor into the experience as a whole. Looking at the dining area, I have to wonder whether the kitchen is sanitary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bones”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We found one bone, on my last bite the first time we visited, but the flavor brought us back. The wait staff simply said “fish have bones.” Unfortunately when I brought my brother, who has a very delicate gag reflex, his first bite was a mouth full of bones. About the same time I got a bone and decided it was not worth trying to eat it. So we had two plates of inedible bones. Not wanting to cause a scene we discreetly mentioned this to our wait staff. Her response was “fish have bones.” I know when you pull fish out of the water they have bones, but generally speaking before you cook fish, it is customary to remove the bones. If I want to pick out the bones, I will do it at home and not pay someone else to do it for me. It is an expensive restaurant on par of a steakhouse and for us to not even receive an apology was appalling. We will never go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a large restaurant that has a good selection of seafood including crab legs.Crab cakes and scallops were excellent. Waitress was very friendly and provided good service. Also has a good selection of steaks including prime rib on fridays and saturdays. Will return. 5 miles from Daniel Stowe gardens.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We attended the Sunday Buffet.
They were very crowded. The bar was set up almost against the wall with the salad bar within a few feet beside. Traffic was one way.
The cube steak and gravy was at the lower part of the bar, the rice far up on the other end. To get rice and gravy I had to go around the bar twice which wasn't an easy feat.
The food was good but definitely not outstanding. Cube steak and shrimp were as good as one can get anywhere else, the fish fillets were somewhat dried out and tough.
One really good thing though, asparagus, it was cooked perfect.
Drink is extra, not unusual at most buffets BUT desserts were extras as well which to me seems chintzy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AmberJack Seafood & Steaks also viewed

 

Been to AmberJack Seafood & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmberJack Seafood & Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.