We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schiele Museum

Schiele Museum
Gastonia, NC
704-866-6900
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Gastonia
Type: Farms, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum contains a farm exhibit on the grounds.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent an afternoon at the museum and planetarium. Interesting museum and planetarium show lovely short walking trail.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherryville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you would like to take your children to a place where they can learn many things and you don't have to max out you credit card this is the place. Many things happen here so check out their website.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

On holiday locally from GB,my husband and I decided to visit the Schiele Museum. We checked the schedule and opted to include a talk in the Planetarium. So glad we did that - the chap doing the introduction was humorous and informative and asked mobile phone users to switch off -an instruction we always appreciate! The show was narrated by the lady captain of the Starship Enterprise - bonus for Star trek fans It was so interesting and their Planetarium is large and comfortable. Afterwards we spent a pleasant hour or so viewing both live and stuffed animals, birds, insects and fish. The museum has a comprehensive collection. There are varied exhibits including an old farm and mill in the grounds but it was too hot at the time of our visit for us to spend much time on the trails. Still more to explore another year and the grounds are free!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Time with grandchildren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great family side-trip. Educational and enjoyable for both adults and children. We went on a Saturday, and they had live animals for the children to see. They were also able to "mine" for gems for a small additional fee. The staff was wonderful!! I wish this was closer - we would visit more often.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good, with one stark exception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A planetarium, with a museum showing fossils, minerals, pre-historic native Indian culture, cave men, and related topics, all very good. The problem is with the live animals, which don't have a good life here. The enclosures are way too small for allowing for a natural behavior, depressing the animals with unrealistic habitats mostly made up of the floor, four walls, and thinly strewn wood shavings. Nothing for the animals to do and they look cold, shivering. I'm very frustrated. If you feel the same after having visited the museum, please write the museum and share your concerns. It's a scandal. The animals can't cover themselves and go to sleep, etc, etc. What is the manager thinking?!@# Medium-sized wild cats in a cubicle, sitting around, staring. Really?! Where is the federal government when you need it?

My rating is 3, 1 and 5 at once.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schiele Museum also viewed

 

Been to Schiele Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schiele Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.