We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms and stay,they should get a back up power...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids to your Saves list
Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6785 NC Hwy 46, Garysburg, NC 27870   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garysburg
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    22
    17
    18
See reviews for
50
19
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I feel that our card used to save our room online was spitefully charged for a 3 night stay because we politely complained to the desk about the broken AC in our room 15 minutes after check-in on the 4th of July weekend. We requested to leave the hotel and stay some place else since online said they were booked up. Well, I'm 8 months pregnant and was not going to stay in a hot room. The front desk lady said we would be responsible for at least a 1 night charge, so we used a different card for the transaction, no problem. 30 minutes later, while at another hotel, we noticed Super 8 charged us, anyway, for the whole 3 nights using the card I saved to make the reservation online. When we called Super 8, the front desk lady working Thursday night on the 3rd behaved incompetently about the extra charge claiming she didn't see it, which was well over $200 dollars. We asked for the manager and she said she was not there, so we left our info to receive a return call, but the desk clerk called us back instead to explain again how she only see's a 1 night charge. For what purpose she decided to call, I do not know, because I wasn't trying to hear that when I was currently looking at the charge on my online statement. Finally, we got a call from the manager at Super 8 and she was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. She fixed the mess that was made by the clerk and did it promptly. The charge was reversed and refunded. I was very pleased with the manager and thankful for what she did. Because of desk clerks like the one we experienced, I do not recommend online reservations if you feel you may be unsatisfied with your room. This hotel is not likely to book up, so I suggest walk -ins only. My husband and I felt access to our credit card was abused intentionally because we wanted to leave the hotel rather than switch to another room. Financial errors of this sort could place a damper on your holiday plans, especially when the error was completely avoidable. So, please be advised.

Room Tip: Make sure the heat and air work properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very poor service
Horrible experience
Save yourselves the trouble of going there
Front desk isn't at all helpful
They take upfront money and don't provide any service
rooms are not clean linen is dirty

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garysburg hotels

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

DO NOT PUNISH YOURSELVES by going to this motel. The bullet proof reception window should have warned us, but we were tired driving all day and needed a place to crash. So I ignored the “red flag” warning signs of a motel which needs bullet proof reception.

Anyways, after checking in, we found the room was hot and humid, the air conditioner was not working, we called the front desk and he came in after about half an hour. He tried to fix it but couldn’t do it. He then asked us to wait for an hour more to see if the AC works! I refused, and asked for another room immediately. We also pointed out to him that the liens were worn and had spots on it, the shower did not have water pressure, and there were some foul smells in the room. He eventually gave us another room. But we discovered that although the AC in that room was working, rest of the room was as bad, if not worse than the previous room.

We were too exhausted to have another conversation with the front desk and tried to get some sleep as it was about mid-night and we were planning to resume our journey South by 7 am. But we couldn’t. The stink, the foul smelling bed sheets etc was just too just much. There was also a lot of commotion and arguments going out in the parking lot throughout the night.

Although they take full payment when you check in, they give you payment receipt only when come back to the front desk to check out, else they don’t! (Does it have to do with avoiding IRS/ taxes on rooms paid for by cash? I don’t know.) So at checkout I went to collect my receipt and the clerk gave me an invoice for TWO rooms stating that we had used two rooms. I said off course, we there sweating in the 90 degrees heat for an hour till we were able to get an alternate room. I said how anyone stay in a room 85-90 degrees with no AC or fan? But she did not relent. I asked the receptionist to call the Duty Manager listed as Ms Patel, but she refused to neither come in person nor speak to me on the intercom. After the receptionist discussed my case with her on intercom, she told me the matter is settled and handed my invoice for one room that I signed. Imagine my frustration when the next day I discovered that they charged my card once at night, and again second time in the morning!

Once we drove off from there about an hour or so drive south, we come across many billboards of motel chains advertising their current rate which was in between $30 to $50, almost 50% of what we paid! We got ripped off not just rate wise, but got charged twice for the rat hole!

My suggestion to the travelers going South, just dive on for an hour or two max and you will get a better value and priced motels then this rat hole and those traveling North, do stop a bit early to give this Super 8 Roanake Rapids Motel a miss.

My earlier experience with Super 8 had been acceptable, but this franchisee has ensured that my family and friends will not be giving any of our business to Super 8 unless they remove or rein in what I believe to be such unscrupulous operators who double charge their unsuspecting guests, cut corners and pinch pennies to make larger profits and give horrible time to their guest.

Super 8 Chain could do well and put in some random inspection program that ensures to us customers some minimum level of room cleanliness and service standards that are actually in practice rather than only in manuals.

But alsas, I don’t see that happening. Their royalty comes from these operators, and they will not discomfort the goose that lays them eggs! It is their short term profits v/s long term losses. As more and more people get ripped off by similar franchises and starts avoiding Super 8, the time to redeem their goodwill may have already passed them by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garysburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Location was great, right off of 95. The room had a sour odor and the were electric wires for the bathroom light just running against the ceiling. Very un-professional. Huge gap in door to outside. There was a family from New York partying at 1:30 am outside of our room which made it just a little difficult to sleep with the gap in the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids

Address: 6785 NC Hwy 46, Garysburg, NC 27870
Location: United States > North Carolina > Garysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Garysburg/Roanoke Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.