We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our suite, loved the location, gardens and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden to your Saves list
Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   333 South Main Street, Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Southern Breakfast!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our suite, loved the location, gardens and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I were guests at the Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden during a three day conference. Innkeepers and Owners John (Currently the Mayor of Fuquay-Varina) and Patty Byrne (a retired high teacher) made us feel like old friends coming to visit. The home itself is a restored Colonial Revival landmark in Fuquay Springs National Register Historic District and across from a small park where business and residential sections meet. This is a very walkable location beyond the Inn’s gardens, which are a certified wildlife habitat. While I'm not knowledgeable about birds, Mayor Byrne is and named several as we watched them dart to the feeders and baths. He and Patty's love for teachable moments is displayed as each planted area is labeled botanical gardens style with both common and latin plant names. Prominent to the front entry is an old China Fir and we were fortunate to stay while the "cones" were in bud. Lush groupings of vibrant Canna Lilly framed the old stone perimeter. We actually didn't stay in the Inn's main house; we stayed in the adjacent Carriage House. Up a short flight of stairs, our two room suite included a full kitchen, dining and seating area and a whirlpool bath. The sunny sitting room overlooked the gardens and we were delighted to have so much room. While we loved our suite and the gardens, it's the breakfast that truly won us over. A morning paper and Mayor Byrne greeted us each morning in the sitting room where in addition to great conversation, he served as barista delivering each latte, espresso or just black specific to each guest's request. A beautifully laid table where each place setting held a starting course of scones, summer stollen and perfect fresh berries and melon. With perfect timing, Mayor Byrne and his wife Patty swapped our empty plates for hot breakfast of farm fresh soft-scrambled eggs, tomato and mushrooms, a slice of Brie, English muffin and my favorite - slices of crisp thick cut bacon with a hint of maple. On our last morning with more time to spare, this course was followed by blueberry pancakes dusted with confectioners sugar and cradling fresh blueberries and finished with a final plate of Patty's unique nod to Bananas Foster. It's a telltale sign of the influence of one of the signature events the Inn offers - chef led cooking classes. We would definitely love to combine a future stay with a class.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is like a sunny small apartment featuring a full kitchen, living & dining are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This spot was quaint. All you could want from a B & B. Just the right balance of privacy.
We enjoyed the host very much. John was full of facts, fun and very gracious. The home has been restored wonderfully. The art work was just as wonderful. Every need has been thought out and anticipated. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. We were very happy with this B&B and think you will be too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in the carriage house which is a self contained unit perched on the side of the main house. We found it ideal and everything we could have wanted in a B and B. Charming and tasteful decor, comfortable, lots of light and privacy. Beautiful gardens surround the whole B and B. John and Patty are wonderful hosts and know a lot about the area which they are keen to share with their guests. Awesome breakfast too (especially the breakfast bananas). We would recommend the B & B wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

The inn is beautiful. Warm, welcoming, immaculately clean, upscale, well-stocked. Lovely decor, great towels, comfortable bed.
John and Patty are warm, well-informed about the area, both locally and state-wide, helpful and friendly. John was wonderful in making suggestions of where to eat and what to see. He made reservations for us at a wonderful Italian place and got us tickets to the museum. He is a font of information and very interesting and engaging. Patty is charming and gracious. We had a great conversation about local politics and education, subjects that interested all of us. She even packed us a little bag of fresh pastries for the airport.
And the breakfast... Well, we love B&Bs and have been fortunate to visit many an excellent establishment. This was the best gourmet breakfast we've ever had in this country! John and Patty bring in local chefs and instructors to teach cooking classes for the community and guests, and wow, they are great students! Three course, heart-healthy breakfasts. Unbelievably awesome coffee. I can't say enough!
We will definitely be back again... And again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

A great find. John & Patty are gracious host. Their warmth and knowledge of the area are unsurpassed. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsbor, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Outstanding! We were treated with great kindness and care during our stay at the Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden. Mayor John Byrne and his wife Patty are very gracious hosts. We stayed in the Carriage House, a wonderful seperate unit over top the garage and fully equipped with full size refridgerator, cooking range, plates, glasses, eating utensils etc..all the comforts of home. We were treated the next morning to a wonderful breakfast prepared by Patty. Afterwards we went on a tour of the house which boasts one of the best art collections in the state. We were also told of the remarkable history associated with the home. If you have time and don't mind being pampered and spending some time with really good people, i recommend you drop in for a stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

While this home is lovely, and its story is charming, the real jewels here are the owners and hosts, John and Patty. The regional knowledge was exceptional and the detailed attention to our comfort, including the wonderful breakfast was outstanding. This wonderful home is within a short walk of some great downtown finds and if you'd like to hang around the house, the gardens provide a beautiful respite. You'll be glad you stayed here, John and Patty pave your way to having a great stay, and a great time in their neck of the woods.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden

Address: 333 South Main Street, Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Fuquay-Varina
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fuquay-Varina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuquay Mineral Spring Inn and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.