We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy breakfast treats” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread House Bakery & Pizza

Gingerbread House Bakery & Pizza
52715 Hwy 12, Frisco, Hatteras Island, NC 27936 (Formerly Gingerbread House)
252-995-5204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Frisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“yummy breakfast treats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

good breakfast treats - bear claw, apple fritter, etc. The pizza is okay. They have a salad bar sometimes.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farragut, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pizza Galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you have and appetite this is the place to go. Variety and the home made pies makes this a favorite stop after a day at the beach. Can't go without the sweets at the checkout. Service is with a smile.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Pie on Island - NOT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Quirky with their hours, this place advertises they have the best pie on the island, but I beg to differ. The crust is thich and the toppings random. Ordered a Hawaiian with bacon and there were fewer than 4 bits of bacon. Granted we were close to the mandatory close of 9 pm, but they could have warned they were low on provisions. Way too much cheese as well. At 8:45 they begin clean up. The sign goes off at 9 and woe to the person who arrives at 9:02. The wait is much longer than at other Island places. There are other options for pizza and we will stick with them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We came back after several years to see if the GIngerbread House was still open. We were very pleased to find that it was, and had to come back to get a pizza after it reopened for dinner. Although it is a little expensive, the fresh pizza and homemade desserts are worth it. Just make sure you check the hours, as it closes during the day!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a cute little bakery with delicous food. We ate breakfast here during the week. Service was friendly and fast. Portions huge. I enjoyed a bacon, egg and cheese bagel. It was piled high with 4 slices of bacon.(couldn't believe I ate it all) My husband had a bear claw and orange juice both delicous. OJ is fresh squeezed (they actually have huge boxes of oranges next to the juicer) We both got huge donuts to eat later, 1 Boston Cream filled and 1 Raspberry filled, man were they good!!!
If you go be sure to get there early. We returned another day around 10 am, they were sold out of a lot of items!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerbread House Bakery & Pizza also viewed

Frisco, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Gingerbread House Bakery & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread House Bakery & Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.