We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Campground and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frisco Woods Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frisco Woods Campground
Save
You added Frisco Woods Campground to your Saves list
53124 Nc Highway 12, PO Box 100, Frisco, Hatteras Island, NC 27936   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Campground and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

My friends and I went to the Campground for the first time in July and had the best time ever. The campground was beautiful, facilities were clean and the staff was so nice. While sitting on the porch enjoying the free wi-fi after the store had closed, one of the rudest campers Ive ever seen started banging on the window of the store yelling at the clerks about not being able to get on the internet. She was screaming through the window that it wouldn't work (I was on it checking wind reports). The clerk opened the window and explained how to connect, still not satisfied, she started banging again and I thought the window would break. The staff didn't react or get discourteous with her but instead told her the store was closed and again told her how to connect. I wanted them to call the police because she was being so rude and disrespectful to them but they overlooked her rudeness. She finally left the porch while yelling obscenities at the woman who had just helped her. Staff like that deserve a Definately the place to stay. I would not like to deal with vacationers especially the rude ones like the long haired blonde chick that had a mouth like a sailor, but these people do it like they really want to make your vacation a great one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    11
    9
    18
See reviews for
51
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Wonderful brand new sound side sites! Nice breeze off sound and level sites! Great location once you get there. Staff is friendly and pool is large!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We just got back from Frisco Woods campground and we can't stop telling people how wonderful it was! We were going to celebrate both my husband's and my birthday since they are so close together and it was the best birthday we could have asked for! We got there on friday about 12:30pm and were able to check in right away and go directly to our campsite. I will say, we were told when we made our reservation that the cost would be $45/night for our site and when we checked in, we were told it would be $51/night instead because of the July 4th holiday, however we weren't going to let the $6 extra a night ruin our trip...so not a big deal. We stayed at site 20 (tent site) and it was perfect! So beautiful! And the breeze that came off the water was great! It was maybe 30 feet away from the water and we couldn't have asked for a better spot! We set up our tent & screened tent to keep out the bugs (which was VERY affective) and went to eat lunch. The area has plenty to do and see both free & low cost along with plenty of restaurants if you aren't the camping cook type. The campgrounds were perfectly located between all of this. The bathrooms were clean and we had hot showers, although it was a little hot and a lot humid so we didn't need them. And the pool was so wonderful! We were able to sit and watch the sun begin to set as we swam! There were laundry & dishwashing facilities however we didn't use them so we can't comment on them but this campground was perfect in our opinion! Thank you Frisco Woods for giving us such a great birthday! The only negatives I can mention was the humidity (which can't be helped) and a seagul that decided to wake us up at the crack of dawn every morning, but again...nature has a mind of it's own! :) Oh and if you do decide to book site 20 or one there close, there isn't shade, but since we weren't really there during the day it wasn't a big deal for us. If you want shade you'll want to book probably site 38 or so...it still has views of the water, but is more back in the trees so you'll have more shade! Hope so this review helps someone find their way to this campground cause we loved it! We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Driving 14 hours south from NH, we were wary because of the negative reviews. They could not have been more wrong!! The staff was incredibly friendly. We arrived 3 hours before check-in time and they were very accomodating, giving us a list of available campsites and allowing us to choose a site and set up immediately. The bathrooms were cleaned every morning, and we never had a problem during our 10 day stay. Everything was fully stocked at all times. The pool was immaculate, and the laundry room was conveniently located adjacent to the pool with a large open window facing the pool, allowing me to do laundry while the kids swam. We stayed in a tent soundfront, and the sunsets are truly awesome. The electric hookup required an adapter which we were not aware of, but they had them at the front desk for a $10 deposit, which was returned to us at the end of the week when we returned it. WiFi was spotty, but we were really far away from the store which is where the router is located. Friday and Saturday night the campground did fill up with rowdy campers, but the staff did the best they could to keep it under control, and the place cleared out Sunday. Overall I would absolutely recommend this campground. We had a great time, and will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Va.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Last year my whole family stayed here to extend our vacation by a couple of days while awaiting our beach house to open up. The campground itself is in a wonderful location, and the pool is nice, but that's where it ends. The bathrooms don't get cleaned nearly enough, and when I informed the management of a large pile of fecal matter on the toilet, it fell on deaf ears, and they failed to address it until the next day. The cabin that we rented didn't have a smoke detector in it, and the pool furniture there needs replacing, to say the least. The other campground in that area (Cape Woods) is a much cleaner, and nicer place to stay. When they clean, you know it's been cleaned because you can smell the bleach!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Do not be fooled by the negitive reivews below, clearly these people are not campers. I am certain given the time of year your experiance could be different. But if you go at the end of April like we did expect to have alot of privacy, there were not that many people just a few wind surfers no loud nights, and the staff was very helpful. The sites that are sound side are absoutly amazing, sunset from our site every evening. The facilites were exactly what you would expect at a campground, hot shower running water and clean toliets not much to ask for when your camping. The town of Frisco is very laidback this area is truly undisturbed nature. We rented kayaks had a blast, walked up and down the coast fishing. This was one of the best vacations ever, my mother loves the beach and camping is truly is the best of both worlds, we will be back next year and maybe again this year. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoebus, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

My family and friends go to this campground every single Memorial Day weekend, since the 1980's. This is an exciting time of the year for our group to enjoy a wonderful weekend of camping and beaching. To those who have complained on this trip advisor website about this campground, you really shouldn't be camping at all. Rent a cottage, or stay in a hotel. After all, this is a campground, and you will hear things that you would not ordinarilly hear in a cottage or hotel. 1. When the campground is crowded, especially on a holiday weekend, the restrooms are going to get messed up quickly. 2. Campers should be allowed to have some fun late in the evening as long as they are not too loud. 3. It is a necessity for the trash truck to pick up the trash, or would you prefer that the trash did not get picked up at all? 4. I very seldom see dogs running loose and terrorizing other campers. 5. Take a chill pill, relax and enjoy, or get a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frisco Woods Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Woods Campground

Address: 53124 Nc Highway 12, PO Box 100, Frisco, Hatteras Island, NC 27936
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Frisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Frisco Woods Campground Hotel Frisco
Frisco Woods Campground NC - Outer Banks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisco Woods Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.