We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Rel

Caffe Rel
459 E Main St, Franklin, NC 28734-2697
828-369-9446
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Franklin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Oh My!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After reading the reviews on TA, the wife and I decided to have dinner at Caffe Rel. What can I say that has not been already said...

Simply put, the Shrimp-n-Grits I had was about the best meal I have ever eaten....period.

Service was excellent and the prices were very good. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    60
    16
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great menu and unique flavors - Cash only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant has something for everyone, but not in the typical way. They have a bit of a gourmet flair and it is applied to all typed of dishes - seafood, poultry, pasta. You will not find flavor combinations anywhere else in the area. Given that it is a unique menu, it is a good value. The preparation was perfect for every item we ordered. Bring cash...no credit cards accepted. There is an ATM right next door.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

It is so weird to see a restaurant that is not a dive located at a gas station. Once you walk in the eclectic decor invites you into a quaint restaurant that is all about the food. I had the cat fish special. It was bursting with flavor. The suace was spicy, the ham removed the fishy taste, and the noodles were cooked to perfection. Great job Chef Rel, btw, nice car.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure in the Smokies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was not expecting to be pleased with a caffe in the back of a gas station but trusted the ratings from TripAdvisor and was glad we did. What a cute place with wonderful food! We were dressed casually from our long drive from Florida and that was fine. It got busy around 5pm. Food great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“I will bring every snooty person I know here just for the shock value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This restaurant sent two former "yankee" preppies home with pride for being adopted southerners. As Duke and UNC grads, we appreciate the chance to show off the south for its friendly elegance- something the snooty Philadelphia mainliners or Princeton preppies might not grasp. We were casually dressed and fit right in to a bustling Caffe Rel on a slow June afternoon everwhere else. Locals and tourists alike can't stay away from this remarkable place. You will read other reviews about the location and hilarious setting for such a fine culinary experience at a super reasonable , quite astonishing really, price. Excellent service too. I found this spot thru tripadvisor and will be forever grateful as we head to Franklin frequently from Cashiers. Don't miss CAFFE REL. It's a conversation piece with a friendly southern pedigree.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Rel also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Caffe Rel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Rel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.