We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Buddies Ribs & BBQ

Fat Buddies Ribs & BBQ
311 Westgate Plz, Franklin, NC 28734-9012
828-349-4743
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Bryson City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The portions are large. The price was little above average. I have been several times and the food and service is always good. The only complaint I have is there hot sauce needs way more kick for my liking.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We actually arranged the trip to spend the night in Franklin so we could have dinner here. Pulled Pork is very good. Good selection of beer to go with it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I came to Fat Buddies on a whim while staying in Franklin recently. The staff were generally very friendly, the service was great, and the food came super quick. However, we weren't greeted by a host until five or six minutes after entering the store. Therefore we, and about six other people, stood confused waiting for someone to say hello, this while two-thirds of the whole restaurant stood absolutely empty and employees seemed to be joking around with each other oblivious to the front door. Don't know what this was about, but it really put us off to start. The food was decent, but not what you'd expect from North Carolina style BBQ. The meat was smoky and flavorful, but the only sauce on the table was a sugary BBQ sauce. I was hoping for a vinegar sauce, but no big deal. In terms of food, Fat Buddies is ok; a filling, quick meal. In terms of service (with the exception of waiting far too long upon entering), it's also quite good. Additionally, I felt the prices were a bit high for quality and portions, and be prepared to deal with FOX News on several TVs while you eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Glacier Park
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good ole Fashion Bar B Q”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Food was good, near KC Bar B Q Standards, wife and I returned here a couple of times. Staff was johney on the the spot. Food was hot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the fact that this place is in a strip mall foul you, they have some great BBQ.

We stopped on for lunch and had the check and ribs. The chicken was the best smoked chicken I have ever eaten; it was tender, juicy and full of flavour. The ribs were tender and melted in my mouth.

When I get a chance to go back, we will definitely be going...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddies Ribs & BBQ also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Fat Buddies Ribs & BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Buddies Ribs & BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.