We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Bear Restaurant

Hungry Bear Restaurant
33 Macon Center Dr, Franklin, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 71 Restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Four of us went for lunch on the recommendation of another friend. I'll start by saying that the food was excellent. My wife and I ordered Cheese Steak Sandwiches, one plain and one with onions and peppers. Both were delicious. our friends ordered 2 different burgers. Both were excellent. The only down side that we could say is that on the day we visited, there was only one person taking orders, answering the telephones, and serving the food. The food did not take very long to arrive, but it looked like they could use some additional help. Perhaps it was just an off day for staff. The prices were very fair and overall the restaurant gets high ratings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryson City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stay in this area from spring till summer and frankly it is not easy to find good food. Since the area is seasonal a lot of places open in the spring and fail in the winter time. Hungry Bear has been open for a few years and we usually eat there once a week. It is a bit pricey for lunch but you get good food and plenty of it. Their Philly cheese steaks are to die for, made from prime rib. The chef salad is humongous and the Rueben, wraps and soups are all excellent. The chef collects memorabilia from military and other eras and most of it is for sale. He supports the motorcycle riders who go through Deal's Gap and ride the Tale of the Dragon. If you have trouble, you just call him. He also does breakfast and dinner but we usually just do lunch while in town for other shopping.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Philly Steak ~ Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had my very first Philly cheese steak sandwich at Hungry Bear restaurant today ! The sandwich was HUGE, and absolutely delicious. Great value for the price. The steak was so tender. I will be back for more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice little sandwich shop next to the quilt shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A little dark, quiet, very nice staff, believe it is locally owned.
One of the very few places in town that have vegetarian items on their menu

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had no clue what to expect going in. Service was decent and the restaurant was very clean. Restaurant was slooow when we were there. Just us and one other table. My husband ordered a wrap and I ordered fried chicken. Both surprisingly good and large enough that we shared with our four yr old. A bit more expensive than we expected, but no complaints.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear Restaurant also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Hungry Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Bear Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.