We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and prices here! Good southern cooking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willy's Bar-B-Que

Willy's Bar-B-Que
240 Cunningham Road, Franklin, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 71 Restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: 828-524-0414 phone #.
Restaurant details
Description: 828-524-0414 phone #.
TampaBay
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food and prices here! Good southern cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were planning to lunch at Cafe Rel the other day but arrived to see they were closed. So we started looking for another place. Finally remembered a friend had raved about Willy's and found it off the bypass and near the old WalMart location. Wow! I ordered the day's special of barbequed chicken and two sides for under $7. My husband got the lunch pork platter with squash puppies and baked beans. I chose collards and green beans for my sides. The veggies were perfectly cooked and seasoned. The chicken was tasty and so well prepared it needed very little sauce. The pulled pork was lean and not greasy. The squash puppies were actually hush puppies with a hint of squash. I found them irrestible. Baked beans were excellent. Service was friendly and efficient. We want to go back to try the catfish dinners that our friend loves so much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belvedere SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Willy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Food was pretty good. They give you alot for the money. It was very convenient to the hotel. We actually walked to it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You might feel a little "PORKY" when you leave.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice place with spacious inside dining, country atmosphere and friendly staff. I had brisket and pork, both tasty but, thin sliced brisket just seems to miss the mark for good 'ol BBQ. Tangy sauce was excellent and I managed to make a "PIG" outta myself anyway. Try the collard greens, they're cooked just right. Word around town is they do a mean steak as well. Maybe next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best in Franklin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have been coming here on our vacation for years and most times eat here more than twice in the week. The best catfish ever! The friendliest service and clean!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

BBQ beef tasted like roast beef and was VERY dry. The sauces were great though! Service was nice. We were the only ones in the restaurant and our order came out wrong. It was never corrected after we told the server, but we also were not charged for it. Bathrooms need updating and although we arrived at 8:30 and they close at 9, we felt like every employee (and owners) were staring at us until we left, hoping we would leave as soon as possible so they could leave. This was not stated, just my impression. I think we will try another restaurant upon our next visit to this city.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willy's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Willy's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willy's Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.