We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Bread Pudding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jer's Kitchen

Jer's Kitchen
1281 Georgia Road, Whistle Stop Mall, Franklin, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 71 restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Franklin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love the Bread Pudding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We like the Standing Indian Wrap and the awesome Bread Pudding but, food seems a little slow getting out but, we tolerate it because it is always good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Gem in a antique mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Jer's Kitchen is in a corner of the Whistle stop Mall. It is open for lunch and accepts only cash. There are only a few tables. The food is first class featuring salads, soups and a variety of sandwiches. They also have delicious desserts. I had their bread pudding with rum sauce. It sure was good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small and easy to overlook but don't!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Jer's is a gem in this small town-good food-especially the soups and the deserts! Few tables and great service-you will feel like you are a regular there after just one visit. Ask about the simple suppers to go if you are staying at a cabin in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Shop and Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Between excursions within the magnificent Whistle Stop Antique Mall, take a break for a perfect lunch inside the mall just after the caboose. The menu features soups (I've had gazpacho and tomato basil), salads, sandwiches/wraps, and deserts. All are fresh and tasty; everything is made right there (including the hummus and tabouli) with fresh, often local produce. Prices are reasonable; service is friendly, enthusiastic. Be warned: they don't accept plastic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I wanted a lunch and a spot to stretch our legs as we traveled, so we picked Jer's Kitchen, in the Whistlestop Antique Mall. This small corner of the mall is well decorated, and the menu is innovative, with such items as a Reuben inspired hot dog. (We didn't try that, but it did sound interesting.) I had a ham and cheese sandwich, and the ingredients included grilled pineapple. My side was cornbread salad, which was good, but not great. Hubby had the lamb burger and liked it very much. Portions are generous, so the meals are a good value, despite their slightly higher than average price. Do be aware that Jer's is only open at lunch, and they only accept cash.

The mall is interesting, too, so for us this spot is a win-win.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jer's Kitchen also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jer's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jer's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.