We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gondolas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gondolas
349 Westgate Plz, Franklin, NC 28734-9012
828-349-9801
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 71 restaurants in Franklin
Restaurant details
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

local place to go to for a quick pizza, subs, or italian meals etc. great service and friendly people and great prices too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    7
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Food was OK, but expected better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The ambiance of this restaurant is very simple. I expected the food to be better to make up for the simple environment. I had the lasagna and meatball meal and those dishes weren't great. The meatball was very bland. The salad and the garlic bread were very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nothing Spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went here for dinner, I had the manicotti with eggplant parmesan and it was just okay. The taste was kinda bland. Needs some more seasoning or something. My wife had meatballs with italian sausage and sauce. The meatballs didn't have much taste to it. The sausage, however was very good. Another thing that turned me off was that they didn't keep the carpeted floor clean. Lots of crumbs and other stuff under and around the tables. There was only one person to wait on all the tables, bring out the food, and keep the drinks full. She was doing a good job keeping the people happy and they should have had someone else keeping the floor and tables clean. Not keeping the place clean can turn you off before you even have anything to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Gross pizza!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I ordered a large pepperoni pizza from Gondola's and I would've been better off ordering from the Little Caesar's right next door in K-Mart! And for the record, I find chain pizza restaurants like Little Sleazers to be disgusting and unpalatable!! The pizza was swimming with grease for two reasons: they used too much pepperoni to top the pie and the quality of the meat and cheese was very poor. The pizza was so greasy that when I lifted a slice out of the box, the sloppy mess of slightly congealed cheese and pepperoni detached from the crust and slid off - leaving a limp, soggy, saggy crust in my hand. I tried this place once and that was enough. Even with mopping the pools of grease off of the top of the pizza with paper towels, I still got heartburn. Never again!

    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Good pizza. Good subs. Good Italian dishes. Reasonably priced. Great salads. The owners are really nice people.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gondolas also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Gondolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gondolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.