We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1950's decor with 2014 menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motor co. grill

Motor co. grill
86 W Main St, Franklin, NC 28734
+1 828-524-0099
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Franklin
Price range: $5 - $15
Restaurant details
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1950's decor with 2014 menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 NEW

As residents of Franklin with plenty of fast food hamburger restaurants with the standard menus available, we take a break from them all by eating at the Motor Company. Our server, Olivia, was super friendly and efficient. Hubby loves the bbq burger and I tried the catfish--yum!!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super Tasty and Friendly Service - And Don't Skip the Soda Fountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 NEW

My wife and I stopped by after a walk on the LTR Greenway during a warm fall day. We were seeking refreshing mid-afternoon treats or sodas. The place has a great 1950's style diner vibe, is right downtown on Main St. and is clean, fun and friendly all around!

The staff seated us immediately at the Soda Fountain where *Kendra* gave us attentive service and made some of the best hand-dipped shakes and floats we've ever had! Seriously lovely.
The chocolate Shake was DEEP in rich chocolate flavor, whipped cream and a cherry, while the Root Beer float (Barq's - yum!) was the perfect blend of ice cream and root beer. All the flouishes of an old time soda "jerk" were provided, right down to the thick straws w/paper swirls!

We heard that the place is crowded until midnight after Franklin HS football games, and it is the "go to" place for motorcyclists, bikers and car enthusiasts when in the mountains. We will be back for the great food, service and sodas!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlet, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 NEW

Last night my wife and I ate here for the fourth time since we moved. The food has always been terrific and the staff has always been friendly. Love the decor of a 50's diner. For us its convenient as its a block away. We have pretty much tried every food place in town and this is one of only a couple that we love and frequent often. Last night there were some couples who brought their beautiful antique cars. They had one couple who owned a Hudson Hornet park their car in a spot right outside the front door. All the patrons enjoyed seeing the car and took lots of pics. I for one look forward to many more visits in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome patio, pet friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 NEW via mobile

Nicole, our server gave great service. The hawaiian bbq burger/club sandwich were delicious. Served our drinks and came out with water for our pup. Will be back next time in town

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad food, server with attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 NEW

I ordered a fried fish plate for my lunch. The fish was very overcooked and very dry. Could not eat it because that is how bad it was and left most it on my plate. Tartar sauce looked like it was made last week and I did not want to get sick from it. Fries were cooked in old oil. Service was poor and waitress had an attitude. My wife had the special and it was okay. Will never go there again and now I know why I stopped going there.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotorCoManager, Owner at Motor co. grill, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I apologize that your experience on this visit did not meet your expectations. We have shared your complaint about the fish being overcooked with our kitchen staff and our kitchen manager will be closely monitoring the procedures used for cooking fish with all cooks to make sure they are following those procedures correctly.

In regard to your statement about the tartar sauce looking like it was made last week I can assure you it was not. All of our sauces are made fresh, daily, in house and we use only quality ingredients.

We have also spoken with the server that waited on you concerning your statement about her attitude.

We strive on a daily basis to give every guest a quality meal and a great experience served by a friendly, happy, helpful server. We apologize once again we were unable to make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motor co. grill also viewed

Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Franklin, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Motor co. grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motor co. grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;