We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, not that far from Nantahala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Franklin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hampton Inn Franklin to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Franklin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   244 Cunningham Road, Franklin, NC 28734   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn Double HHonors Point
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good choice, not that far from Nantahala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here on my way to the Nantahala River the next day. It was close enough so I got there in plenty of time after a scenic drive on slow winding roads. This hotel was clean and the staff was excellent. A good value, I would stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhome, General Manager at Hampton Inn Franklin, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
The 18 mile drive to Highlands is beautiful...I hpoe you stopped at all three waterfalls!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy our little mountain town and that you choose our hotel as your home away from home.

When your travels take you to the mountains again, we’d be honored to have you stay with us again. It was our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service.

What can we say but see you next time!
Laurie and the entire team at the Hampton Inn Franklin, NC
Your friend in the Mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    98
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
80
100
15
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Needing at least a queen size bed for my wife and I, they offer only full size beds. Was not told this until check in. Plus the bed we did get was terrible and not up to the Hampton Inn standards that we have come to enjoy and rely on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhome, General Manager at Hampton Inn Franklin, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Gary Warner:
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I overheard you at check out speaking with Michaelle the front desk agent who reserved the room for you. Our handicap accessible rooms have full size beds and we always stress this fact during the reservation process. The size of the room and accessible requirements only allow for a full size bed. Our front desk agents are very well trained and always make sure to confirm that the bed size will be comfortable for you. We want to make sure our rooms are able to handle your needs.

When you made the reservation you told Michealle that a full size bed would not be acceptable. You requested a king bed with a view. When you called back you changed the date of arrival and the bed size was not altered. I wish we could have put you closer to the elevator as I understand your legs or knees were the real reason you wanted a handicap room.

In the past we have offered handicap seats for commodes and seats for our shower to be placed in our rooms with a king or queen size beds to better accommodate the guests needs.

If you ever check into a hotel and the room is not to your liking always let the front desk know as we will find you a more suitable room at another hotel if needed and release you from any charges.

Our beds were just purchased little of a year ago and upgraded to Serta Perfect Sleepers which are rotated every three months for ultimate comfort. It is always hard to sleep in a bed that is not your own I understand. I understand your wife slept well but you did not.

When your travels take you to the mountains again, we’d be honored to have you stay with us again. It’s our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service.

Sincerely,

Laurie Richards
General Manager
Hampton Hotel
laurie.richards2@hilton.com
828-369-0600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family stayed here over Labor Day Weekend, 2013. The hotel was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. One person deserves special mention and that is Laurie from the front desk. Apparently, I accidentally left my credit card on the front counter and then went out to sightsee. She found the card and taped it to the mirror in our bathroom so that we would notice it first thing upon returning. Her thoughtfulness meant a lot to me. Additionally, she provided some excellent recommendations for great places to eat. Believe me, she was right on the money. We plan to return to the area and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

P. Coonan

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhome, General Manager at Hampton Inn Franklin, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Well don’t we feel mighty Special!...Because you felt mighty Special!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy our little mountain town and that you choose our hotel as your home away from home.

When your travels take you to the mountains again, we’d be honored to have you stay with us again. It was our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service.

What can we say but see you next time!
Laurie and the entire team at the Hampton Inn Franklin, NC
Your friend in the Mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location near a wedding we were attending and were very pleased with all aspects of the stay. The rooms were very quiet and immaculately clean. We would love to come back for a vacation stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhome, General Manager at Hampton Inn Franklin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Well don’t we feel mighty Special!...Because you felt mighty Special!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy our little mountain town and that you choose our hotel as your home away from home.

When your travels take you to the mountains again, we’d be honored to have you stay with us again. It was our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service.

What can we say but see you next time!
Laurie and the entire team at the Hampton Inn Franklin, NC
Your friend in the Mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent hotel. Friendly staff that made our stay very special. Very clean, well decorated rooms. The breakfast offered was great. The staff in the dining room was wonderful as well. Convenient location. Very nice town with sweet folks! We would like to have stayed longer and explore the area more. The mountains are breathtaking. Lots of quaint shops and interesting people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhome, General Manager at Hampton Inn Franklin, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Well don’t we feel mighty Special!...Because you felt mighty Special!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy our little mountain town and that you choose our hotel as your home away from home.

When your travels take you to the mountains again, we’d be honored to have you stay with us again. It was our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service.

What can we say but see you next time!
Laurie and the entire team at the Hampton Inn Franklin, NC
Your friend in the Mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff receives an A+ for friendliness and helpfulness! On a Monday evenings, several of the local restaurants are closed, but the front desk staff was able to suggest places for dinner which they knew had great food and remained open.The breakfast staff was as polite and accomodating as you could ask anyone to be. Very clean and quiet rooms, but the best part is waking up in the morning and peeking out the window to see the mountain views. This trip was great because the clouds were hanging below the mountain tops so you could see mountain, clouds and then the peaks of the mountains about the clouds.Great start to a day! This hotel is well off of the highway so there is no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhome, General Manager at Hampton Inn Franklin, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Such A Beautiful View!!!!

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! I’m so glad you were able to enjoy our little mountain town and that you choose our hotel as your home away from home.

When your travels take you to the mountains again, we’d be honored to have you stay with us again. It was our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service.

What can we say but see you next time!
Laurie and the entire team at the Hampton Inn Franklin, NC
Your friend in the Mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Air conditioning that cools hallways, lobby and breakfast areas is broken. It is *81* degrees in the hallway (not kidding!) and very warm in lobby and breakfast areas as well. A/C in room is working hard to keep temperature in the room comfortable. I asked the staff and they said that they are having issues and that they are working to fix the problem. While I understand things fail, this is my second week at this hotel while in town for work and the issue remains unresolved. I wonder if the repair is being delayed due to the fact that seasons are close to changing. I would highly recommend considering another hotel or, at the very least, calling to ask if it has been fixed. Other than the air conditioning, the hotel is one of the nicer options in Franklin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonhome, General Manager at Hampton Inn Franklin, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
There is a Silver Lining!


As general manager of this hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay with us. Our success is dependent on the feedback we get from our guests.

Our breakfast area has been moved into our large meeting space which is at a very comfortable 70 degrees so breakfast can be enjoyed without worry.

I know you and I have spoken on this matter on the phone but I do apologize as our 4 ton A/C unit did expire last week. We will be waiting at least 2 weeks for the unit to be replaced as it had to be ordered and a crane has to be secured. For our small town getting a crane is a major endeavor as it will be coming from Charlotte, NC.

I know you have made several reservations throughout the next few months. As promised I will keep you updated.

Thank you again!
Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Franklin

Address: 244 Cunningham Road, Franklin, NC 28734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Franklin 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Franklin
Franklin Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Franklin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.