We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fontana Village Resort to your Saves list
Fontana Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Woods Road, Fontana Dam, NC 28733   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived at Fontana Village last week; the hotel itself looks like it has a lot to offer; however, we went during the offseason and the place seemed to be dead. We only encountered a few other guests. The facility does need some updating as it seemed like the place was stuck in the 80's. Our room had a fire place which was nice, and the rooms were clean; however no better than a Super 8. They do have a Frisbee golf course which is a nice feature. It is a beautiful drive out to the resort, but when I see the word resort, I am expecting a bit more modern amenities. The staff was kind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The off-season around here is definitely much quieter than most people often expect it to be. It’s a great time to relax and unwind, but scheduled activities are more limited. We are happy that you enjoyed the disc golf course – it is really growing in popularity! The drives to and from the resort are definitely unparalleled, so it’s wonderful that you were able to experience those as well. It’s great to hear that you were well taken care of by our staff members too!

We appreciate your visiting with us and sharing your thoughts. We always want every guest to have an amazing time, and we apologize if yours was less than you had hoped for. We will use your feedback as we move forward.

We hope to have you back again during our busy season so that you may experience all we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
95
108
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnardsville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a couple nights this past weekend to stay at the Lodge...our first time to visit Fontana Village. We were greeted at check in by Lana could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Loved the lobby with the seating around a gorgeous fireplace and the views from the huge deck were amazing. Got to the room and it was very nice and very clean.
So we unpacked quickly and set out to explore the village which was way more than we had expected. 90 plus cabins with streams and ponds running throughout the grounds. Beautiful place to visit.
Every single member of the staff that we met was very nice and went out of there way to make our stay great!
Unfortunately we had to cut our visit short...but we loved this place and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It’s great to gain new “Fontana family members”…..Hopefully you now feel like you have been coming for years! We enjoy hearing about the experiences of our guests, and it sounds like yours was wonderful! We have a great staff here and we are so happy that you experienced that for yourself! With so many onsite activities we can definitely keep you busy....

It’s a little slower paced this time of year, so it is the best time to get away and unwind from it all. The fireplace in the lobby is definitely one of the most popular spots when it is chilly outside!

We hope to see you back very soon so you can experience the best of all four seasons here in the Smokies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We met our son at the Fontana Village Resort for 24 hours 2 weeks into his AT Hike. What an awesome visit with our son and a great stay at the Lodge. Great property. Very clean and comfortable. Now that my wife and I have discovered this property, we will likely return. Enjoyed dinner at the lodge restaurant - thought it was very good and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We love our AT Hikers that come and stay with us! It’s nice that you were able to visit with your son while he was on this section of his journey. The hikers are always so thankful for a hot meal, shower and warm place to sleep! We are delighted that you enjoyed the property as well!

We get a lot of hikers this time of year and we love to hear stories such as this one. We hope you will come back and visit with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have stayed at Fontana Village 4 times and have had every type of accommodation. I like that they have different levels of accommodations for different budgets.

The property is expansive with many streams crossing the property that the kids LOVE to play in. There is a "bass" pond, that we have never caught anything in, and waterfall up a trail 20 minutes.

The main hotel has a beautiful lobby and several hundred rooms for rent. BUT! That is NOT where you want to stay. My best stay consisted of a 2bd/2ba cottage that was nicely outfitted. The kitchen and living room were beautiful and there was two porches. There is a dishwater too!

There are also smaller trailers and larger cabins available.

The only problems I have with Fontana Village is how remote it is. There is usually no cell service, but a few areas now have wifi. The closest town is 30-45 minutes away which is a bit of a hike. The food in the main restaurant is good, but expensive. In the grill you are stuck with pizza/chicken tenders/ sandwiches/etc... Definitely hit the grocery store before coming up. Bars on property are excellent.

I love visiting here each summer and would recommend it to anyone wanting to unplug for a while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you are part of our “family” who visits us year after year. It’s so nice to have such loyal guests!

It sounds like you have spent the time and utilized many of our amenities and services! The onsite trails are a wonderful way to bond with the children while enjoying nature at its best and the trout pond is a lot fun. You should try the Marina out the next trip up – children are almost sure to catch a fish! (Especially if you let our staff down there know how excited they are to hook one)…

Wi-Fi and cell service are two issues that we have made progress on, but still have some more to go. But like you said – it’s also nice to get away and “unplug” for a while!

We can’t wait to see you back soon”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just returned from another visit in Fontana for Thanksgiving. Everyone here is great, from Tim in reservations to Joey and his staff in the restaurant to PJ in the social/activities! Lodge rooms are great, rustic but very clean, nice, and comfortable. So relaxing in this remote location of the resort. I just wish there were more options to eat, especially for dinner and quite bites to eat that does not require to eat a full sitdown formal/fancy dinner each and every night in the off season. This visit we had some snow, which was very nice and very pretty scenery. Would be nice to have some snow activities in the winter time, a tubing/sledding hill would be tons of fun and would definitely have my family and I returning during the winter months! Anyway, anyone of the fence about visiting, do not hesitate! Ignore any negative reviews. This is a very remote resort with virtually no cell service, but who cares, an excellent resort for families and couples!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! The remoteness of our area is not for everyone, but for folks like you and your family it sure is! We love that we can offer families that quality time together that you can’t get just anywhere. Your opinion of us is much valued!

We appreciate our guest’s feedback and use it in our meetings to see what we are doing right and wrong. So thank you for sharing your visit and experience with us!

We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went here for Thanksgiving week. Was looking forward to a room with a fireplace, but come to find out that none of the rooms with a fireplace have a small fridge and microwave. The latter was very surprising since this resort is so located in such a remote area, with limited dining facilities available (especially in winter). We ended up getting a one bedroom single-wide trailer, which had a full kitchen, but no fireplace. We did look at a 2-bedroom cabin, but the layout was crappy, and the price was much higher ($40-50 night), and the fireplace was out in a small living room; we wanted it to be in the bedroom.

As many others have noted, the only place you can get internet and/or phone service is in the lodge lobby...and the internet service there is SLOW too. The TV reception in our trailer was so poor, I got maintenance to come out and look at it because I thought something was wrong. Turns out that's just the way it is, as the maintenance guy told me that the farther you are from the main lodge, the worse your TV reception will be! What year is it!? LOL I was brought back to my days in the early 70s when we lived in western NY, and we used to try and adjust our roof-top TV antenna to pull in stations from Canada (Hamilton & Toronto)....they came in barely visible & blurry, just like in our trailer!

One of the main reasons we went here for Thanksgiving was that they had a bunch of activities scheduled for Wed. - Sat. One that we were really looking forward to was a marshmallow roast in a huge fire pit on Wed. night, but they cancelled it because it was too cold!!! In my mind, the only thing that should have cancelled that fire was rain, a blizzard, or very high winds....there was neither present that night, just coldness (about 25-30 degrees). In other words, IT WAS A PERFECT NIGHT FOR A PIT FIRE!

OK, so another reason for going here was the Thanksgiving buffet. It was good, but with two major flaws. The main courses were turkey, roast beef, ham, and trout cakes. The turkey and ham were awesome, while the roast beef was horrible (tough and dry), and the trout cakes were just average. That was one flaw, the other was the desserts. I think they made them all on Wed., then put them in the fridge until they were served on Thurs. The small mini-pies were crusty and NOT fresh, not at all. The cakes were OK, but also seemed about a day old. The salad & rolls were very good, as were all the side dishes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We apologize that your experience was less than you had hoped for. The remoteness of our area and the weather sometimes limits internet and TV services. While a lot of folks enjoy the down time, not everyone does. These are issues that we are currently working to improve on.

We definitely appreciate your observations of what you experienced and please know they will be used in our planning meetings. Our goal is to better ourselves as we continue to grow, your feedback will be a very vital part of that.

We hope you will come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I visited as a last minute thought. The decision was great. We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the off-season. The lake tour should be a definite. We had a great tiem and plan on coming back in the Spring to enjoy more of the amenities and places to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy that you chose to stay with us and had such an amazing time. Our off-season is a great time to get away and unwind. There aren’t as many distractions this time of year, which makes it the perfect “quality time”.
The lake tour is a great way to see and enjoy the area.

We sure hope to see you back in the spring so you can see all that we have to offer. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Road, Fontana Dam, NC 28733
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, massage and fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.