We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fontana Village Resort to your Saves list
Fontana Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Woods Road, Fontana Dam, NC 28733   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My son and I checked into this resort hotel for 3 nights as one of 9 other Corvette club "couples" from Ft. Worth TX on Sunday, August 11th. I was VERY impressed. The mountain roads used to get there were absolutely stunning. This is one of the 2 nicest resorts that I've been to. The grounds and facilities are top notch. My room was excellent, with a door leading out to a 1st floor balcony. The ONLY thing missing was a small refrigerator in the room. The ice machine broke after our arrival, but the onsite restaurant kept a large ice chest full nearby. The weather was rainy and in the 60's and 70's, which I really enjoyed, since Texas is very hot and dry that time of the year. The food was above average and the prices were not too high. The bartender broke the blender trying to keep up with my frozen Pina Colada orders! This was a very enjoyable visit. I can't wait to go back with my wife and enjoy the many activities available. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms in the lodge are on the 1st floor. There are also cabins and poolside rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the wet weather…we sure have had enough to spare this year! The views here are among the best you will ever see….It sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having your wife visit us the next time!

We can't wait to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
95
108
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here three Memorial Day weekends in a row. It has gotten proggessively worse every time. In 2011 the staff seemed more friendly and it was a festive place, the last 2 years it seems they don't want anyone to be there. We call to reserve a room Fri and are told there is a 3 day minimum. When one of our group talks to the right person and we get that lifted they always say they are almost full, so we all hurry to book and when we get there the place looks empty. It's expensive so if you want to go motorcycle riding in the mountains of western NC I recommend staying in Alcoa, TN at Mainstay Suites, they are far more biker friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at Fontana Village. Our number one goal is to provide the best service and accommodations for all of our traveling guests. If you experienced anything less, we surely apologize.

On occasion a few times a year we require a minimum stay at the property based on demand and other variables, but please check back with us in the future because one nights stays in the Lodge are available throughout the year.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort. We value all guest feedback both positive and constructive so we can continually strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The 12 of us had a great time (ages 10 to 70ish). Staff was helpful and we loved the limited cell and internet availability in the cabins. Even the teens had to actually talk to each other rather than being glued to their iPhones. Cabins were cleans - we have ants in one after blueberries we left on the counter and staff was there to treat them within 10 minutes of us letting them know we had a problem. Lots of trails on the property and more close by. Loved the Hillbilly golf. Wish we had more time (were there for 5 days) so we could try the disc golf. Arranged with the restaurant in the lodge for a special dinner for my parent's 50th anniversary. They had the table for all 16 of us ready and waiting - even came by the cabin to confirm the number earlier in the day. Had a delicious (but rustic) cake. Fire pits at each cabin were great - so were the rocking chairs on the porches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and celebrating your parent’s 50th Anniversary! What a great Milestone that we got to be part of. It’s nice to hear that our staff made your trip so pleasant!

We enjoy hearing about the kids that have to unplug for a while! It helps families to bond and truly get away from it all. We are happy that you were able to relax and enjoy the amenities that we have on site!

We hope to see you all back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family just got back from Fontana Village and had a wonderful time. It gave us exactly what a trip should, relaxation! The Restaurant at the Lodge, Mountain View, is absolutely delicious. Our group tried almost everything on the menu. Some of the items we had were the crab cakes, shrimp & grits, black bean burger, bourbon chicken, trout, salmon. All were wonderful! The village has a cute lazy river attached to the pool that the kids (ages 3, 5, 10, 10, 12, 12) loved. My husband and I enjoyed putt putt and tennis. One day we rented a pontoon boat and went tubing on Fontana Lake. Fun for all. Another day, Wild Adventures Bus picked us up and took us on an unforgettable white water rafting trip down the Natahala River. This is a must, just breathtaking views. Less than 5 miles away, we hiked to a waterfall which the kids played in for half the day. We rented a golf cart and had fun driving around the village. The kids enjoyed walking down to the ice cream shop each night for a dessert.

We plan on going back again every summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for making Fontana part of your special memories! The Mountview indeed has some amazing dishes, and it sounds like you tried the most popular ones! The Shrimp & Grits and Bourbon Chicken are hot commodities around here! The Lazy River, Putt Putt and Tennis are fun for all ages!

We are happy that you got to take advantage of the lake, it’s perfect this time of year! The Whitewater Rafting is another fun trip that make for a truly adventurous day! It sounds like you got to experience all the best of Fontana!

We look forward to being part of your family for many more summers to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my family went to stay at Fontana for the week. We had a great time the cabin we stayed in was very nice. It had plenty of room for our family of four. We ate at the grill and the Mountview Restaurant. The food was delicious and the waitress, Bethany, was excellent. We went to the pool one day and it was refreshing and the kids loved it. I had a good time talking to Cody at the pool bar. One of the main reasons we came to the village was to visit the Marina. It exceeded expectations. We rented a pontoon for a couple of days and had the best time taking the kids tubing. The lake was so beautiful and the boat was the best thing about the trip. The crew at the Marina were so nice and helpful, Ronnie, Danny, Colton, and Robert were really knowledgeable and helped immensely. One other thing I recommend is taking the sunset cruise with Captain Ken. He is an excellent tour guide and know alot about the area and the history of area. It was great trip and I would definitely recommend visiting and I will be coming back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We love to hear about our guests experiences while they are visiting with us. We do have a great staff on board and are glad to hear they made your trip memorable! The lake is the PERFECT spot to relax and unwind, and it's wonderful that it exceeded your expectations.... The history of the area is so fascinating, and we are delighted that you enjoyed hearing about it!

We can't wait to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed a night here and was pleasantly surprised. Overall it was a nice place. The room showed some wear & tear but no complaints. A few stains on the carpet. I wouldn't say it was spotless but it was clean and the bed was comfy. Bathroom is pretty small. No fridge or coffee maker in the room. Free wi-fi in the lobby area and at the restaurants worked well but didn't work in my room (252). Verizon cell coverage is pretty bad in the area. Lots of stuff to do at the resort. Lodge pool was busy but I still found some chairs. Bring a towel as there isn't any at the pool that I saw. The resort's website has tons of info about the place if the other reviews here didn't cover something. My room only had one open outlet in addition to the one at the bathroom sink and none near the bed. Suggest bringing an extension cord and power strip if you're a techie like me for charging your stuff. The history and location make it a neat place. I'd stay again if I'm in the area. Check in & out was quick and the desk staff were friendly. Neat lobby too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and suggestions. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself while visiting with us! The history in this area is really exciting, so we enjoy hearing our guest’s response to it.

We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom cabin and were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort. Only negative thing was that the cable tv was not working while we were there. It was repaired the day we left. We just found other things to do--lazy river, putt-putt, game room, cooking out, eating ice cream at the village store. There is plenty to do. Our family of 7 had a really good time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the different activities that we have available on the property. We apologize about the tv not working, but are happy that you found other things to keep you busy!

We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Road, Fontana Dam, NC 28733
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, massage and fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.