We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort

Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort
300 Woods Road, Fontana Dam, NC 28733
828-498-2211
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Located in the Lodge at Fontana Village Resort in the Great Smoky Mountains.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the Lodge at Fontana Village Resort in the Great Smoky Mountains.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Over the 4 years we have stayed here the food is always amazing! 5 star chef on site. Small bar but they always take good care of you after a long day of riding.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great, reasonable, homemade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The restaurant is very nicely appointed. I was surprised by the ordinary fare and reasonable prices. I had the meatballs both nightsI that we were there. They are homemade and really good. The portions are huge. The sauce is really fresh tasting too. All the desserts are made in house. We had the pecan pie and it was very good. A little over sweet. The view is beautiful and the waitstaff very friendly.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Eat anywhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Go to the hotel site to see my review. Horrible service, horrible food

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT food (except dessert)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We ate supper here on a Thursday night. It wasn't busy at all (4-5 of the 20 or so tables occupied.)

We started out with house salads and they were okay. The lettuce was about 2/3 green (the other 1/3 was that bitter, yellowish-white unfortunately.) The creamy parmesan dressing was very good and the croutons were exceptional! Obviously homemade; the croutons were light, crispy and nicely seasoned!

I had the filet of beef tenderloin which came with mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus and it was outstanding! The steak was fork tender, flavorful and the port wine reduction was very complimentary. The grilled asparagus was perfectly cooked and also very flavorful.

I got a piece of coconut cream pie for dessert and was pretty disappointed in it. It was not the light, creamy pie I was expecting, but rather an extremely heavy, thick pie. It had good flavor, but it was just so heavy it was hard to enjoy.

Our service was very good - not too attentive, but not lacking, either.

Prices were about what I'd expect for the quality of food (except for the pie) and I'll definitely eat here again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort also viewed

Fontana Dam, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Fontana Dam, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Robbinsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains

Been to Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountview Bistro at Fontana Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.