We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home with many nearby activity options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau on the Mountain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fletcher
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau on the Mountain
Save
You added Chateau on the Mountain to your Saves list
1048 Sandy Flat Mountain Road, Fletcher, NC 28732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Fletcher B&B and Inns
Kilgore, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely home with many nearby activity options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Garden Room with our two year old son. I wasn't sure how it was going to go with bringing a two year old along, but things went very well for us. The inn was easy to find using the directions provided on the website. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and beautiful scenery around the home. We also were very pleased it had a swimming pool - great activity for families that most B&Bs do not have. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed walking around just enjoying nature. My son loved the innkeeper's cat and spent a lot of time playing with the cat. The nearby city of Hendersonville is charming and has a great downtown area with shops and restaurants and museums to explore. The breakfasts were delicious, and we truly felt like we were famliy staying with the kind innkeepers who have made such a lovely retreat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in the Sterling Castle room and it was fabulous! The everything about the chateau is breathtaking... from the house to the guest rooms to the whirlpool tub for 2 to the stunning views... truly paradise! We used a groupon deal that gave us 2 nights plus a candlelit dinner. We had dinner the evening we arrived- it was a delicious 3-course meal (though my DH ordered the salmon when we made our reservation and was served pork because of some mixup). The guestroom featured a WONDERFULLY comfy memory foam mattress and overlooked the sparkling pool on the back of the house. The huge bathroom featured a beautiful whirlpool tub for 2 (SO relaxing!) Note: the Sterling Castle room does NOT have a seperate shower stall, which was a little inconvenient if you wanted to take a quick shower as opposed to a bath. The tub has a shower head that you can hold, but is quite awkward to use and sprays water all over since there is no shower curtain. (If we return, we will probably choose one of the other rooms instead since they offer seperate showers.) Breakfast is served at 9am in the lovely formal dining room and featured a frittata casserole one morning and open-faced "montecristo" sandwiches & skillet potatoes the next. On Saturday, we ventured into downtown Asheville (about 25 minutes west) and had a lovely day of strolling in and about the streets, shoppes, art galleries and restaurants. One place NOT to miss is The Chocolate Lounge (corner of Patton & Lexington) where they have a selection of delectable desserts, coffees and beers/wines, not to mention their signature line of chocolates. For dinner, we opted for "Asheville's best seafood" at The Lobster Trap- it did not disappoint! Before heading home on Sunday, we visited the town of Hendersonville. It has a lovely, quaint downtown and we happened to be there during the annual Garden Jubilee, so that was a delight! We had lunch at Me and Mrs. G's, a wonderful american bistro that we had seen featured on PBS before our trip- it was a real treat! We definitely recommend the Chateau for a relaxing getaway in a beautiful area with so many wonderful adventures to behold!

Room Tip: Groupon deal- 2 nights and dinner for $199.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I live in Florida and decided we wanted to see the leaves and experience some fall weather in the beautiful North Carolina mountains. This was a spur-of-the-moment decision, so it was difficult to find accommodations anywhere. After much Internet research, I found Chateau on the Mountain. The big house is lovely. Each room is beautifully decorated and each has a big bathroom and tub. Our room, The Northern Lights, had a jacuzzi tub and big rain shower, fireplace with a flat screen TV above, small frig, microwave. Our room was one of the least expensive rooms. Very nice. . . The hosts, Jeanne, Lee, and Crystal, are very hospitable. They invited us to take a look all around the home. The home is off the beaten path at the top of a mountain, about 15 minutes from Hendersonville. Hendersonville is a nice little town with several restaurants and shops. Hendersonville is also the apple capital of NC, so we enjoyed getting apples, Indian corn, gourds, etc. on 64, where a dozen or so apple orchards are located. All in all, we had a wonderful time and would go back to this lovely spot if the opportunity arises. Oh, they have a resident outdoor cat, Hooper, who is the friendliest cat ever!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Firstly, it's a house, not a Chateau.
Secondly, it's not on the address given, put that in your GPS and you end up looking up a narrow road with a sign saying "No access to B&B"
, but no helpful comment about which way to go. You can't call the Innkeeper for directions as there is no cell signal. Climb this wrong mountain road to get a signal and he will tell you it is now on a new road 400 yards further on. It would have been good to have been told that with the written confirmation, instead of at the end of a long, tiring journey.
Our room was not serviced on the second day.
The room's instructions boast coffee and creamer and 4 sets of silverware. We had one knife, no coffee and creamer.
The Innkeepers are fine folk, but instead of talking so much they need to watch and see what's needed at the time and what's missing..
There was no wifi internet in the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCkeeper, owner at Chateau on the Mountain, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
We are sorry that they were confused about which road to use but we tell alll guests who call and DO include a reminder in the confirmation letter. Some rely onthe GPS & neglect to bring directions. To say we are just a house is like saying the Grand Canyon is just a hole in the ground. We have an 11,200 sq ft property on 10 acres with 35 mile views. I know they spend summers in the south of France and winters in Antingua and the rest of the time in London, but to have expected a European Castle is a little unrealistic.
We DO have wifi and I'm using it now. We wish they had mentioned about the coffee & spoons we could have corrected that. Here is what they said about us in our guest book. "Thank you for a lovely stay and your recommendation of a visit to the Biltmore. The room is delightful and the jaccuzzi (actually the hot tub) great to relax in. The views are stunning and the food superb. This was our first visit to North Carolina and we love it"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The Biltmore room is absolutely the most beautiful place I have ever had the pleasure of staying! We were only there for two nights, but it was two of the best nights of my life. The Chateau sits high up on a mountain, overlooking the mountain and the whole city of Asheville. It was October, and a little chily, so we had a romantic, candlelight dinner (catered by the owners) looking out over the city lights! The whirlpool tub is huge, and gorgeous!!! I felt like I was in a fairy-tale, with the man of my dreams. They even arranged a wonderful massage therapist (Sandy) to come to our suite! We take a small get-away trip every two months or so, but nothing will ever top the Chateau on the Mountain. I CAN NOT WAIT to return!!! Thank you Lee and Jeanne for the lovely time! We talk about you guys and our trip ALL THE TIME!!

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spartanburg sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Chateau on the Mountain was so nice! We stayed in the Sacre de Couer room and loved it! The bed was very comfy and the view was breathtaking!! Lee and Jeane were so sweet and kind. We really enjoyed out mini-vacation and hope to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the chateau ! It was very relaxing and quiet - a perfect getaway. The hosts were really enjoyable and accommodating to their guests. We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but it met all of our expectations. The chateau was decorated very nicely, along with several public areas to enjoy. We stayed in the Stirling Castle, cute room and loved the upgraded jacuzzi . I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Mountain

Address: 1048 Sandy Flat Mountain Road, Fletcher, NC 28732
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Fletcher
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fletcher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High atop Sandy Flat Mountain, the Chateau on the Mountain, Bed & Breakfast stands majestically waiting to pamper and shelter you from all of life's harsh realities. Three magnificent Suites and three beautiful large rooms, all with inviting baths and amenities. Your only decisions: 1) Which accomodation to choose? 2) Which local attraction to visit 3) Which delicious item to eat at breakfast and afternoon reception? Conveniently located in Fletcher, NC midway between Hendersonville & the Biltmore Estate. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau on the Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.