We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hibachi restaurant with immediate seating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samurai Japanese Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Samurai Japanese Steak House
239 N Mcpherson Church Rd, Fayetteville, NC 28303-4403
910-868-1212
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 437 restaurants in Fayetteville
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Hibachi restaurant with immediate seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were seated immediately on a Friday night, but the place still had lots of people. There's a bar section and a traditional sit-down dinner area, but I recommend the hibachi/teppanyaki grill area. It's much like other hibachi restaurants. Steak, chicken, shrimp, scallops, and lobster grace the menu. There are many sushi options for appetizers, made with expert hands. There is a normal amount of rice (next to the super amount at Miyabi), and the white sauce is a bit on the sweet side, but you may like it that way. The chef always prepares the food perfectly of course; when I ask for my filet mignon to be medium-rare, it's medium-rare. That's hard to find in Fayetteville, except at Miyabi. The staff couldn't be more friendly; they greet you at the door with a smile, and make sure your experience was wonderful as you leave. One time it was raining, and there was someone outside with a VERY large umbrella that walked me to the car to pick up my family, and I was dry when I got to my car. That was unexpected, and very much appreciated. They go above and beyond here. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    11
    11
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty interior, Rude managers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The food was delicious, and the cook was friendly and entertaining; however, Samurai is overpriced for the experience you have, especially in comparison to Miyabi's. The inside is usually dirty (I've never eaten there without someone at my table with a dirty plate/silverware). The managers are visibly rude to their wait staff, and all of their staff clearly are burdened with their workload. I asked my waitress how the tipping process works (to figure out if I should tip the cook separately) and she said that the wait staff only receives 45% of every tip they receive. As a former waitress, I find the way this establishment is run appalling, and not worth the amount Samurai charges. Miyabi's is cleaner, tastes better, has staff that are professional, and a more friendly ambiance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Food is always great! Try the calamari habatchi. There take out is very generous as well

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Went on a holiday and still got great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Came for Mother's Day. Only had to wait 10 minutes to be seated even though it was packed. I guess we were lucky. The chef was entertaining and the food was excellent. I will definately come again, especially since they also serve lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The food is good and after they close the restaurant, if the weather is nice they open up the patio and its like an outdoor night club!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samurai Japanese Steak House also viewed

Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Samurai Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samurai Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.