We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luigi's

Luigi's
528 N Mcpherson Church Rd, Fayetteville, NC 28303-4497
910-864-1810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 450 Restaurants in Fayetteville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited this restaurant last night. I was not impressed.The service was good, our waitress was really good at checking on us and keeping the glasses refilled. The food was ok. I wasn't a fan of the dipping sauce for the bread, I like balsamic vinegar but not to dip the bread in. I ordered baked penne with marinara because I do not eat meat. The sauce, to me, seemed as though it were tomato paste, it was very thick and the cheese on top, to me seemed as if it were out of a bag. I was surprised when the waitress ask if I wanted fresh cheese and I anticipated they would grate it but it was scooped out of a container & was already pre-grated. The house salad was ok, but I ask for a vinaigrette dressing which for my liking was too much and so were the herbs that were put in the salad. Prices were reasonable but I doubt I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luigisnc_owner, Guest Relations Manager at Luigi's, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that the Luigi's staff met your expectations. All of the sauces at Luigi's are homemade. In fact, the recipes have been in the family for generations. We hope that you will give Luigi's another try. If you like steak~ we have quite a few to select from. Also, if you enjoy rack of lamb, you must try ours. Get it Greek style. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your visit was. Luigi's hopes you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    67
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food; friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fantastic Italian food. Granted, I likely would slurp down any pasta with sauce, but this was extra good. I enjoyed chicken soup, a great salad, delicious bread, and some kind of chicken with white sauce, which was very moist and tender. I sat at the bar, where two regular patrons introduced me to the bar staff and manager, who were very nice. These patrons told me that the staff will let you walk into the wine cellar to personally select your wine, though I did not confirm this. They also have a huge wine-by-the-glass menu. Only drawback is small, cramped, parking lot off a busy highway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luigisnc_owner, Guest Relations Manager at Luigi's, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your visit was. Glad you got to meet some of our loyal customers. Next time you will have to tour the wine cellar. Hope we get to serve you again! Take care and thank you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Simply awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

First time here and just awesome. Wine, bread, she crab soup, lasagna, and ravioli. Wow. Meat sauce is awesome.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great as Usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This has always been a favorite, but as I've gotten older I've grown to appreciate it more. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about wines and food, the food is always hot and plentiful and the atmosphere is great. I too, recommend the she crab soup, it is so good. It is a good place to take a date or your family and always get the food and service you expect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

please don't waste your time if you want real Itailian...might as well go to olive garden same taste and flavor...blah

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's also viewed

Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Luigi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luigi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.