We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Fayetteville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherefe

Sherefe
114 Gillespie St, Fayetteville, NC 28301
+1 910-630-3040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 450 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sherefe (pronounced "shedefay") means "Cheers!" In Turkish. Owning a restaurant was a dream for owner/chef, Mustafa Somar, for many years. In 2003, the dream became a reality, when he opened Sherefe Mediterranean Grill on Ramsey Street. After 10 years, we relocated to a much larger and more beautiful location in historic downtown Fayetteville, North Carolina where we now boast a two story building, four dining rooms, and a full bar! Along with the location, the vision has also evolved...Mediterranean Grill was all about authenticity and while we remain authentic, our focus has become fresh, healthy, local and sustainable. While we don't cater to any particular dietary plan, the Mediterranean diet is a natural fit for gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan and even paleo as demonstrated at our cooking classes.
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Fayetteville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The new location in downtown Fayetteville is gorgeous, there is a nice bar downstairs with intimate tables in the dining area and upstairs there are larger tables. The owner is most always at the restaurant and will walk around ask if you are enjoying your meal. But the real delight at this restaurant is the food. With daily menu changes and specials you are sure to be happy each time you dine here. I have never ordered anything that I didn't like but let me mention the ceviche appetizer, it's incredible. It is, hands down, the best place to eat in Fayetteville with a unique atmosphere and menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    16
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST Food in Fayetteville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Consistently the best food in Fayetteville. My family gets tired of hearing me say that's where I want to go when we go out to eat. I'm sad that we have left the area and won't be able to go here any more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food-Ambiance-Spirit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The new decor of Sherefe's is full of gorgeous Ambiance. Yet it still has an overall Cafe style appeal to it. Located in the heart of Downtown, down the street from our famous Market House, it's a must see stop for travelers.
Mustafa the owner is as spirited in his personality as he is in his food. Presentation is spot on & flavor's take your taste bud's soaring!
His entree's are plentiful, pleasing to the eye & de-lish!!
I love his home made soup's!! There is nobody that makes soup like Mustafa does.
The Old Fashion Way ~ from scratch. If it's Chicken Soup, he start's very early in the morning with the entire chicken, the broth is heavenly! A meal in itself really & he sell's his soup ToGo!
This new location has our town buzzing with how good his humus is & more!
2 Thumb's Up and then some. Highly recommended.
Julie Donahue-CityView Magazine

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My daughter and I visited this restaurant at its previous location in Ramsey Street and we loved the food and the service. We enjoyed that experience so much that we decided to visit the new location downtown and we agree that the food was excellent, the service was fantastic, and the location is perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They've Moved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Sherefe has moved to downtown Fayetteville (Gillespie St.) into a much larger facility. It is probably 5 or 6 times larger than their previous location and is beautiful! The food is still good. The wait staff and owners are still extremely attentive and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherefe also viewed

Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sherefe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherefe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.