We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service, food inconsistant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
505 N Mcpherson Church Rd, Fayetteville, NC 28303-4409
910-487-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 451 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Slow service, food inconsistant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't mind paying a little more if I can be guaranteed an excellent steak. On this occasion, my "cheap" $14 sirloin was better than my husband's $20 Victorian cut. Super slow service, even though we went early to avoid the crush - wait time can be 45-60 minutes after 5:30PM. Everything I ordered was tasted great, but others at our table either did not get what they wanted or it was not cooked correctly. We had to ask for the forgotten items several times. Our server had way too many tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    15
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It is what it is. High priced and average service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

You know what to expect when you go to this chain. MAny better choices in this town. No different than any other outback

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sure it's a chain steakhouse, but some times you want predictable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I eat at the bar, usually. There are premium and inexpensive steak entrees, and the lower end steaks are very good. The horseradish or bleu cheese crusts on steaks are great. All the bartenders I've had are friendly and attentive and they can mix a good dirty martini, which is my favorite potable for a steak dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recently ate at Outback Steakhouse. Our party included three adults. It was a very busy Friday night at the prime dinner hour. We had called ahead and were told the wait would be 35-40 minutes. We arrived about 15 minutes later and had a very short wait until we were seated. Our waitress, Allison was very prompt and attentive. Our order was prepared perfectly even though we had very specific instructions as to our preferences. I ordered the 6 oz. sirloin cooked medium well over a wood fire grill with very little seasoning. It was exactly to my liking and the salad and accompaning vegetables were most delicious. The others in our party also reported that their food was delicious and precisely as they had ordered. We are so glad that smoking in restaurants has now been banned as our previous visit to Outback was very unpleasant because of the smoke. The staff now wears solid black uniforms which we like much better than their previous uniforms.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First impression terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Rudest hostess I've ever met in my life. We walked in and she didn't even say hi. Brought us to our table and pretty much through our menus at us! Should Deff look for a new job! You are the first person customers come in contact with. When I asked for a GF menu that really pissed her off. The waitress was nice.. But was kinda out if it kept repetavly coming over and giggling when asking if things were ok.. Messed up my order I understand if ppl arnt aware if celiac but to ask no croutons and receive them is terrible! Then to ask me if I want bread? My husbands medium well steak looked like it was still mooing. My loaded baked potato was a joke.. The best part was the gf brownie but since it was on the reg menu thought the price was a little outrageous. The total bill was high for not a high quality meal. Portions were not huge.. I've been to several chains with my celiac and had never had any problems until here. Get rid of that nasty hostess or atleast talk to her! Deff friendly home up north!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
Fayetteville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.